Fun In B.C.  

Welcome to the Fun In B.C. forums. your outdoor adventure headquarters.

As guest on our site, you have the chance to take a look around and get an idea of what we're all about. Feel free to check out some of the current topics of discussion and some of the stories of adventure gone by, by clicking on the top right picture to view past "Pictures of the week" .

Don't be shy, come on in. By joining our free community you'll be able to join in the fun with other outdoor adventurers and find out about upcoming events. you will also get access to View posted pictures. Stop sitting on the outside looking in, join today it's easy and it's FREE.

It's time for you to start having FUN..... in BC!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

HOTMAIL USERS: Check your 'junk mail' folder for the confirmation message and add 'funinbc.com' to your safe list so you don't miss anymore important emails from us.

Go Back   Fun In B.C. > All about your Ride > Quads , Sleds, bikes and Boats

Quads , Sleds, bikes and Boats Got a question or want to show off a new mod on your Quad, Snowmobile, bike or Boat? This is the place to go

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 10-15-2006, 01:26 PM
epic3's Avatar
epic3 epic3 is offline
cornbinder on coils
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, Canada.
Posts: 13,701
epic3 bad newbie
Reputation: 2
Need to freshen up or replace my front end Kingpin Beam
__________________
founding member of A.A.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-15-2006, 01:27 PM
epic3's Avatar
epic3 epic3 is offline
cornbinder on coils
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, Canada.
Posts: 13,701
epic3 bad newbie
Reputation: 2
the kingpins are worn out past the point of adjustment
__________________
founding member of A.A.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-15-2006, 02:19 PM
lizard's Avatar
lizard lizard is offline
pornminister +3!!
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: somewhere out in left field
Posts: 10,086
lizard bad newbie
Reputation: 4
I could use some rear arms for my irs(2x3) but then I probley need porche cv's then extended axles then......u get the idea . still wanna keep mine streetable yet I need more travel/clearance in the rear

who makes a locker ? you running a 002? I have a 5rib in mine
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-15-2006, 03:47 PM
surreysinner's Avatar
surreysinner surreysinner is offline
Fuck Jesus he does not exist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bc
Posts: 2,410
surreysinner bad newbie
Reputation: 0
I have a spooled rear end in mine and hate it. It doesnt steer worth shit until second gear. I plan on unspooling it when i get a chance.

I wish they had a air locker for the bus trannys, so you could use it when u need it. It would be good for when you blow a cv in the bush too. That way you could limp out on ur other cv.
__________________
FUCK EM IF THEY CANT TAKE A JOKE!
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-15-2006, 04:16 PM
epic3's Avatar
epic3 epic3 is offline
cornbinder on coils
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, Canada.
Posts: 13,701
epic3 bad newbie
Reputation: 2
the dude I bought mine from said it has the poor mans posi kit in it I said ok whatever that is
but the posi only works when goin forward when ya put it in reverse only one tire lights up meanin you can get real stuck forward then cant back your way out
__________________
founding member of A.A.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-15-2006, 06:44 PM
surreysinner's Avatar
surreysinner surreysinner is offline
Fuck Jesus he does not exist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bc
Posts: 2,410
surreysinner bad newbie
Reputation: 0
Thats what i was told too. Poor mans posi

My last rail had no posi and i never got stuck and it had less aggressive tires and motor.
__________________
FUCK EM IF THEY CANT TAKE A JOKE!
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-15-2006, 07:16 PM
epic3's Avatar
epic3 epic3 is offline
cornbinder on coils
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, Canada.
Posts: 13,701
epic3 bad newbie
Reputation: 2
yeah but mine isn`t a spool it`s open in reverse and seems like a posi or locker in forward
__________________
founding member of A.A.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-15-2006, 08:15 PM
Das-Bug Das-Bug is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Maple Ridge
Posts: 19
Das-Bug Unknown Newbie
Reputation: 10
I will look and see if i can find a new kingpin front end..i know where one i gave away is..and i dont think its getting used..so i might be able to get it back from the dude..

i sold my last set of 2x3 arms sorry. but so ya know.. 2x3 arms take a stock length bus axle (18 3/4") and you can change your stub axles in the arms to type 181 stubs..or porsche 944 stubs..wich will allow you to bolt on a stock bus CV joint..and keep your stock type 1 brakes..or you can get stubs with the stock type 1 flange cut off and a type 2 flange welded on..all of the above things are easy to find for good prices..

if you have a bus tranny with stock bus axles your almost done..just need stubs and arms..

the poor mans posi is not really a posi at all..on a normal diff the side gears are held in place with a thick spacer and a snap ring..wich allows for a little movement back and fourth..no load on the spiders...easier for the diff to do 1 tire fire..

the posi kit comes with a new spacer that has been machined down..and a bunch of shims to take up the new gap that has been created..it really just allows you to fine tune the endplay on the side gear..in the end up end up with a little tighter diff..sorta posi..

if you look at some of the syncro trannys..they came with a factory locker..vac operated..but you can swap it out to cable operated..you need to weld in a support in your center section of the tranny..but it can be done..

they also have bus limited slip diffs on the market..old ZF units..but expect to pay a grand..

lock right made a soft locker for the 091 bus tranny diff (6rib) but they no longer produce them..they can be found for sale used though..

last but not least..a new line of auto torque biasing diffs have been on the market for almost a year now..they are the best of everything..no discs to wear out..full posi..full open..takes power from spinning tire and transfers it to tire with grip... this is the way i will be going....down side is you can use cutting brakes with it..

my baja at the moment uses some 5 rib and some 3 rib stuff mated together..i wanted the bull low 5:38 ring gear..
im sure my tranny will only last a race or 2 before it needs to be upgraded to 091..even though its brand new..
those 002s dont like the side load from jumps as much as the 091 does..

i can get ZF diffs and cable lockers from a dude that goes to mexico to get them.. they are not cheap..and not always available

Cale
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-15-2006, 08:54 PM
epic3's Avatar
epic3 epic3 is offline
cornbinder on coils
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, Canada.
Posts: 13,701
epic3 bad newbie
Reputation: 2
ya seem to know your vw tranny stuff and as for the beam dude that would rock if you could score me that do you know how to adjust them on the cheap for lift
__________________
founding member of A.A.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-15-2006, 10:05 PM
Das-Bug Das-Bug is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Maple Ridge
Posts: 19
Das-Bug Unknown Newbie
Reputation: 10
Do you need an entire front end? beam? arms? spindles? i will see what i can do 4 u.

as for cheap lift.. cut your center grub screw section out of your beam..rotate the cut section about 3/8" or so upwards (so grub screw is pointing more towards the air instead of the ground....weld the section back in place..this rotates your torsion springs clockwise wich points your trailing arms more towards the ground wich give you more lift..

do one torsion tube at a time so you dont need to jig your beam all up to weld it back..
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 10-15-2006, 10:10 PM
epic3's Avatar
epic3 epic3 is offline
cornbinder on coils
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, Canada.
Posts: 13,701
epic3 bad newbie
Reputation: 2
I think all I need is the king pins
the spindle rattlees around in it quite abit and I already tried adjusting it
__________________
founding member of A.A.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 10-19-2006, 06:43 PM
Das-Bug Das-Bug is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Maple Ridge
Posts: 19
Das-Bug Unknown Newbie
Reputation: 10
Have not had any time to hunt 4 your stuff yet..but i will get 2 it and let ya know.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 10-19-2006, 09:20 PM
epic3's Avatar
epic3 epic3 is offline
cornbinder on coils
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, Canada.
Posts: 13,701
epic3 bad newbie
Reputation: 2
no probs dude and thanks again
__________________
founding member of A.A.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:59 PM
lizard's Avatar
lizard lizard is offline
pornminister +3!!
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: somewhere out in left field
Posts: 10,086
lizard bad newbie
Reputation: 4
cant u just get the new parts yah need?

buddy got a shop to do his ,,,,,royal PITA to do it an big press needed.

easier to get a half decent used one I quess
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 10-21-2006, 08:41 PM
epic3's Avatar
epic3 epic3 is offline
cornbinder on coils
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, Canada.
Posts: 13,701
epic3 bad newbie
Reputation: 2
thats what I was thinkin gettin a whole complete beam and scrapn mine
__________________
founding member of A.A.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Design By: Resourcelabz.se