Fun In B.C.  

Welcome to the Fun In B.C. forums. your outdoor adventure headquarters.

As guest on our site, you have the chance to take a look around and get an idea of what we're all about. Feel free to check out some of the current topics of discussion and some of the stories of adventure gone by, by clicking on the top right picture to view past "Pictures of the week" .

Don't be shy, come on in. By joining our free community you'll be able to join in the fun with other outdoor adventurers and find out about upcoming events. you will also get access to View posted pictures. Stop sitting on the outside looking in, join today it's easy and it's FREE.

It's time for you to start having FUN..... in BC!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

HOTMAIL USERS: Check your 'junk mail' folder for the confirmation message and add 'funinbc.com' to your safe list so you don't miss anymore important emails from us.

Go Back   Fun In B.C. > All about your Ride > Chevy ramblings

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-26-2015, 10:41 PM
Happypants's Avatar
Happypants Happypants is offline
Rollin like a redneck
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,524
Happypants Good newbie
Reputation: 12
2002 Sierra, oil pressure sensor,

Picked up a 02 Sierra a few months back, had to do the knock sensors and oil pressure sensor, so I replaced the oil press sensor, and the gauge still didn't work, so I picked up another gauge cluster thinking Mabey it was the stepper motor behind the cluster, still did the same thing, while driving the oil pressure gauge drops to 0 and then the "oil pressure low" warning light comes on, anyone had this happen to them? Only thing I can think of is mabey a bad wire from the sensor out?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pudge
try to keep up spongebob, you're sucking his dick, whilest Mrs Tuna jams herself and Jerm watches
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2015, 06:09 AM
vajayjay's Avatar
vajayjay vajayjay is offline
My name goes well with a
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ridge
Posts: 5,704
vajayjay Good newbie
Reputation: 16
Maybe the gauge works, you have no oil pressure
__________________
Team Heep

I blew up my stroke so I got a bigger cummin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2015, 07:57 AM
arjan arjan is offline
Make your own-iEdit Title in 'User CP'
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mission, BC, Canada.
Posts: 1,034
arjan bad newbie
Reputation: 0
Grounding issue? If multiple sensors fail, typically electrical ground is suspect.
__________________
Arjan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2015, 11:43 AM
Happypants's Avatar
Happypants Happypants is offline
Rollin like a redneck
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,524
Happypants Good newbie
Reputation: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by vajayjay View Post
Maybe the gauge works, you have no oil pressure


I auctually thought the same thing, I was gonna pop the pan off and check the screen on the oil pickup,
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pudge
try to keep up spongebob, you're sucking his dick, whilest Mrs Tuna jams herself and Jerm watches
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2015, 11:45 AM
Happypants's Avatar
Happypants Happypants is offline
Rollin like a redneck
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,524
Happypants Good newbie
Reputation: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjan View Post
Grounding issue? If multiple sensors fail, typically electrical ground is suspect.


I think the truck was swamped in a mud hole at one time or another cuz when I pulled the intake off there was a inch of mud underneath it, I cleaned it all out and ordered all new pigtail harnesses for the knock sensors and rtv'd the rubber plugs into the intake to keep the moisture out, the old sensors were fucking gross, pretty much rotted apart
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pudge
try to keep up spongebob, you're sucking his dick, whilest Mrs Tuna jams herself and Jerm watches
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2015, 12:33 PM
Burge's Avatar
Burge Burge is offline
Porch Honky with a
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Haney, BC, Canada.
Posts: 1,901
Burge bad newbie
Reputation: 0
i would put in a mechanical gauge, confirm you have oil pressure. then look into the harness.

i would do that before pulling then oil pan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-27-2015, 12:34 PM
Burge's Avatar
Burge Burge is offline
Porch Honky with a
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Haney, BC, Canada.
Posts: 1,901
Burge bad newbie
Reputation: 0
have you confirmed you where given the right sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-27-2015, 03:06 PM
Happypants's Avatar
Happypants Happypants is offline
Rollin like a redneck
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,524
Happypants Good newbie
Reputation: 12
Yes I have, I double checked part numbers and it was identical to the sensor I took out


I'm gonna get a mechanical gauge and check it before I yank the pan
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pudge
try to keep up spongebob, you're sucking his dick, whilest Mrs Tuna jams herself and Jerm watches
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-27-2015, 03:10 PM
dirka dave's Avatar
dirka dave dirka dave is offline
My carbon print is the size of a crater
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the space between space...
Posts: 17,404
dirka dave bad newbie
Reputation: 9
I'm with burge.

Go with mechanical gauge.
__________________
..TEAM OO......
The beatings will continue until morale improves !
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-27-2015, 08:51 PM
4skin's Avatar
4skin 4skin is offline
Cact
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,694
4skin Good newbie
Reputation: 15
Does it have a fram filter on it ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Design By: Resourcelabz.se