Fun In B.C.  

Welcome to the Fun In B.C. forums. your outdoor adventure headquarters.

As guest on our site, you have the chance to take a look around and get an idea of what we're all about. Feel free to check out some of the current topics of discussion and some of the stories of adventure gone by, by clicking on the top right picture to view past "Pictures of the week" .

Don't be shy, come on in. By joining our free community you'll be able to join in the fun with other outdoor adventurers and find out about upcoming events. you will also get access to View posted pictures. Stop sitting on the outside looking in, join today it's easy and it's FREE.

It's time for you to start having FUN..... in BC!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

HOTMAIL USERS: Check your 'junk mail' folder for the confirmation message and add 'funinbc.com' to your safe list so you don't miss anymore important emails from us.

Go Back   Fun In B.C. > All about your Ride > Chevy ramblings

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-14-2012, 04:38 PM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
03 Silverado P0540 Error code

So had return lines from injectors tightened and no longer diesel getting into crankcase then next day engine light comes on. Code P0540 shows up as "Intake Air Heater A Circuit". So today talking to mechanic buddy he says mechanic who fixed fuel return lines may have not attached a wire or broke a wire and if I leave it the truck will be harder to start in cold weather... something to do with glow plugs too. So is this an easy quick thing to check? Like can the same gm mechanic or other mechanic figure this out quickly? I live 4 hrs from Hope where mechanic fixed loose fuel lines so I wonder if its something they could check easily\quickly since I'll be driving through on Wed or just wait to take to a shop locally? I'm driving to Abby and back from the Cariboo Wed so maybe get it figured out or fixed while my gf is shopping .
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2012, 07:48 PM
85chevy 85chevy is offline
Nothing Runs Like a Deere
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,471
85chevy Good newbie
Reputation: 12
Google is ur friend checked the fuse????
__________________
1992 Jeep Cherokee
1985 Chevy 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2012, 10:27 AM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
the fuse is under main fuse box under hood I was told... I'll try to locate it today.
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2012, 10:59 AM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
Ok found 175 amp fuse under fuse box. Power at one end none at other end. I took fuse out and ohm tested in and no continuity so guess its shot. So just ordered one through GM, $20. Hopefully its the only problem...Thanks for the help!
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2012, 11:01 AM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
Also to make maters a little more unnerving... truck has been hard to start so I been bleeding a bit of air out of fuel filter and then it finally fires up. Maybe replacing the fuse will solve problem...
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2012, 03:23 PM
winner winner is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
winner Good newbie
Reputation: 11
you shouldnt have to bleed any air out of a fuel filter to start your truck? there is not alot of ways an electrical fuse will allow air into the fuel. i would be looking for an air leak in your fuel system as this would cause hard starts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2012, 09:04 PM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
Hooked up scanner, cleared code. Replaced fuse. Engine light dids not come back on. So all good I think. Engine turns over for a second or two before its starts. Seems normal.
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Design By: Resourcelabz.se