Fun In B.C.  

Welcome to the Fun In B.C. forums. your outdoor adventure headquarters.

As guest on our site, you have the chance to take a look around and get an idea of what we're all about. Feel free to check out some of the current topics of discussion and some of the stories of adventure gone by, by clicking on the top right picture to view past "Pictures of the week" .

Don't be shy, come on in. By joining our free community you'll be able to join in the fun with other outdoor adventurers and find out about upcoming events. you will also get access to View posted pictures. Stop sitting on the outside looking in, join today it's easy and it's FREE.

It's time for you to start having FUN..... in BC!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

HOTMAIL USERS: Check your 'junk mail' folder for the confirmation message and add 'funinbc.com' to your safe list so you don't miss anymore important emails from us.

Go Back   Fun In B.C. > All about your Ride > Jeep Talk

Jeep Talk The only true 4x4

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-02-2012, 07:21 AM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
93 Cherokee no overdrive

Other day our 93 Jeep Grand Cherokee the overdrive does not work. Buddy said drop pan on tranny and check ohms on the 4 solenoids. The solenoid that tests over 20 ohms will be the burnt out overdrive solenoid. Yet he said look for one aftermarket or at Jeep before you start taking it apart. Anyone similar issues or good parts kicking around?
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2012, 03:22 PM
85chevy 85chevy is offline
Nothing Runs Like a Deere
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,471
85chevy Good newbie
Reputation: 12
Ever changed the fluid in it?
__________________
1992 Jeep Cherokee
1985 Chevy 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2012, 04:39 PM
Chopstick's Avatar
Chopstick Chopstick is offline
I wish i had a
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: china
Posts: 4,451
Chopstick has a spectacular aura aboutChopstick has a spectacular aura aboutChopstick has a spectacular aura about
Reputation: 200
are the solenoids electric wouldnt it through a code?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2012, 07:34 PM
Happypants's Avatar
Happypants Happypants is offline
Rollin like a redneck
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,503
Happypants Good newbie
Reputation: 12
if it was a solenoid it should throw a code, turn the key on to the start position but dont start it and then off 3 times and the check engine light will start flashing, count the flashes, it will flash fast a series of times, then pause then flash a few more times so on and so fourth, then post the codes
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pudge
try to keep up spongebob, you're sucking his dick, whilest Mrs Tuna jams herself and Jerm watches
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2012, 09:13 AM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
Thanks for the help! I was too perplexed yesterday to troubleshoot it so dropped it off at tranny shop. Will post later what they found out
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-03-2012, 12:09 PM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
Mechanic said something about a throttle sensor that throttle is stuck at 50% therefore tranny will not go to overdrive, regardless how far skinny pedal is pressed. Mechanic suggested find new or used overdrive switch for dash. He feels that may be the problem. Buddy has a jeep for parts so I'll see if his switch will work. Plus shop did not have proper adapter for their testing equipment to diagnose tranny.
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2012, 02:37 PM
D-Ass's Avatar
D-Ass D-Ass is offline
it's 5' of
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: fuck if I know
Posts: 2,541
D-Ass Good newbie
Reputation: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitetrash xj View Post
if it was a solenoid it should throw a code, turn the key on to the start position but dont start it and then off 3 times and the check engine light will start flashing, count the flashes, it will flash fast a series of times, then pause then flash a few more times so on and so fourth, then post the codes
Dude really? The key has to be turnd 5 times not 3! Second the trans does not go tjhrough the check engin light at all. The trans can only be read through the the com plug under the hood!
__________________

Beat your children or i will beat you!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-03-2012, 03:59 PM
Happypants's Avatar
Happypants Happypants is offline
Rollin like a redneck
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,503
Happypants Good newbie
Reputation: 12
My jeep is only 3 key turns, Mabey it's different for the
Zjs, I dunno,
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pudge
try to keep up spongebob, you're sucking his dick, whilest Mrs Tuna jams herself and Jerm watches
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-10-2012, 08:12 AM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
So replaced overdrive solenoid since Mechanics Snap-On computer said o\d switch was good yet said problems in o\d circuit damaged and he said to replace o\d solenoid. Still no overdrive So to eliminate o\d switch since so many wires go to it we took o\d switch out of dash and looking for a good one to test with. In the meantime everyone here is telling us to check all wires under truck and behind dash for broken or loose wire. Its my GF's jeep and she would rap her knuckles on speedo cause sometimes it wont work right so mechanics said to look under dash instead of us paying them to do it (by the hour $$$) So any other ideas?
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-14-2012, 02:42 PM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
So replaced overdrive solenoid and all the conections and all seems good yet no overdrive!! Yet did notice o\d cacellation button light flashing so here is the sequence we wrote down:

flashes twice
pause
flashes once
pause
flashes 5 times
pause
flashes 5 times

So I wonder what that means??
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-14-2012, 02:44 PM
Happypants's Avatar
Happypants Happypants is offline
Rollin like a redneck
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,503
Happypants Good newbie
Reputation: 12
O2 sensor needs to be replaced, and code 55 is just a end code, means nothing
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pudge
try to keep up spongebob, you're sucking his dick, whilest Mrs Tuna jams herself and Jerm watches
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-14-2012, 07:02 PM
Chopstick's Avatar
Chopstick Chopstick is offline
I wish i had a
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: china
Posts: 4,451
Chopstick has a spectacular aura aboutChopstick has a spectacular aura aboutChopstick has a spectacular aura about
Reputation: 200
Maybe your overdrive gear blew up

Here's for the codes http://www.2carpros.com/questions/je...ic-fault-codes
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-15-2012, 06:08 AM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
That link did not work. Yet I have a print out of codes and the flashes refer to "21" which says "governor pressure solenoid output" yet tranny shop replaced overdrive solenoid and I think the soenoid that comes with the govenor solenoid. Like they come as a pair. Yet it could an O2 sensor??
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-15-2012, 08:10 AM
Chopstick's Avatar
Chopstick Chopstick is offline
I wish i had a
Swollen Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: china
Posts: 4,451
Chopstick has a spectacular aura aboutChopstick has a spectacular aura aboutChopstick has a spectacular aura about
Reputation: 200
I guess the link only works for iPhones. Oh well, good luck
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-26-2012, 09:47 PM
godtool godtool is offline
Nothin' but a post whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Forest Grove (100 Mile House)
Posts: 932
godtool bad newbie
Reputation: 0
Please help boo hoo

Back again. Still no overdrive and the link works on our newer computer. So a defective O2 sensor can be the culprit eh? The link talks about upstream and downstream O2 sensors. Does that mean there are two? Its my girlfriends jeep and she is frustrated I cant find the problem. She has done some research and her searching has pointed to trying a good used TCU or sometimes called a TCM. Both shops I took it too couldnt fix it even after overdrive and govenor solenoids replaced, I totally forgot about O2 sensor suggestion and that sensor may be an inexpensive solution, Any other pointers would be suggested since I need to get out of this wet dog house
__________________
81 Jimmy, 4" Lift, 38" TSL's, 14 Bolt\Detroit, Dana 60
My site: wwwCariboo4x4ca

Last edited by godtool : 06-26-2012 at 10:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Design By: Resourcelabz.se