Fun In B.C.  

Welcome to the Fun In B.C. forums. your outdoor adventure headquarters.

As guest on our site, you have the chance to take a look around and get an idea of what we're all about. Feel free to check out some of the current topics of discussion and some of the stories of adventure gone by, by clicking on the top right picture to view past "Pictures of the week" .

Don't be shy, come on in. By joining our free community you'll be able to join in the fun with other outdoor adventurers and find out about upcoming events. you will also get access to View posted pictures. Stop sitting on the outside looking in, join today it's easy and it's FREE.

It's time for you to start having FUN..... in BC!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

HOTMAIL USERS: Check your 'junk mail' folder for the confirmation message and add 'funinbc.com' to your safe list so you don't miss anymore important emails from us.

Go Back   Fun In B.C. > All about your Ride > Dodge Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-13-2009, 08:00 AM
crazylike crazylike is offline
Make your own-iEdit Title in 'User CP'
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Westbank
Posts: 1,372
crazylike bad newbie
Reputation: 8
enigine swap question

if i was to buy a 75 dodge with a 360 and take the motor out how hard will it be to put it in my 89 truck that has a 318.
the 75 is 2wd the 89 4wd 75 is carb 89 is tbi both auto's.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2009, 10:30 AM
Lurker Lurker is offline
Out-N-About
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In a cardboard box
Posts: 395
Lurker Good newbie
Reputation: 11
Not hard. The heads would be a swirl port on the 89's, kind of desirable. As would be the tbi.

But you have the opportunity to rip out a whole bunch of emmissions hoses and crap if you go with a carb.

IMHO if I was to do it again, I would go with a big block swap. Would have cost me roughly the same.

I went with a 78 360 into a 85 that had a 225. I went all out on the engine though. It gets better mileage than my ford v10 driving in town.
__________________
Looking to buy some dolphin meat. Please PM with offers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2009, 04:32 PM
nebowe nebowe is offline
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Langley BC
Posts: 223
nebowe Unknown Newbie
Reputation: 10
Hmmm well the 360 will bolt right in...but I would stick with the 318....the 360 is a has guzzling hog...you can use the throttle body from the 318 onto the 360 but you will have a little tuning to do (fuel pressure or injector size) in order to take advantage of the extra cubic inches. This is assuming headers to high flow cats and mufflers as well....Most of the linkages you will need are on the 318 and will swap over to the 360. Use the torque converter from the 360 into the tranny/transfer case from the 318...Good luck
__________________
where am I going....and why am i in this handbasket
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2009, 04:58 PM
crazylike crazylike is offline
Make your own-iEdit Title in 'User CP'
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Westbank
Posts: 1,372
crazylike bad newbie
Reputation: 8
I would stick with the 318 but it giving me grief and only has 20000kms on a fresh rebuild. i find it turns 44's ok on pavement or gravel but when trying to climb shit it is a bit weak even with the 4'10s.. i am hoping the 360 will give me the little bit of extra power i need for offroad. can i use the carb or do i have to swap the intakes?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2009, 07:26 PM
nebowe nebowe is offline
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Langley BC
Posts: 223
nebowe Unknown Newbie
Reputation: 10
You can use the carb...and it would likely work better carbureted anyway...what grief is the 318 giving you?
__________________
where am I going....and why am i in this handbasket
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2009, 08:20 PM
crazylike crazylike is offline
Make your own-iEdit Title in 'User CP'
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Westbank
Posts: 1,372
crazylike bad newbie
Reputation: 8
black smoke and funny whining noise when it gets warmed up and sometime it says the oil pressures low then next time it says its fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-2009, 09:12 PM
nebowe nebowe is offline
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Langley BC
Posts: 223
nebowe Unknown Newbie
Reputation: 10
hmmm a couple of questions...is it easy starting or trouble...any engine codes?....factory gauge on the oil or aftermarket...i suspect something going on with the fuel pressure..as for the whining..try to find out where exactly the whining is coming from...front or back of the motor...Its tough to trouble shoot without standing right there....more info needed...and how low is low...and did it work ok just after the rebuild and eventually go this way or did it happen all of a sudden and if so what was happening at the time.
__________________
where am I going....and why am i in this handbasket
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2009, 09:28 PM
crazylike crazylike is offline
Make your own-iEdit Title in 'User CP'
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Westbank
Posts: 1,372
crazylike bad newbie
Reputation: 8
starts easy idles fine when cold when warms up is starts puffing black smoke the whine noise comes from the back the engine the oil pressure is a factory gauge it goes to half way then drops to none, next time it stays at half, as for trouble codes i tried to get it to show me codes but it wont.
i have changed the fuel pressure regulator and every sensor besides the temp sensor and the o2 sensor.

Last edited by crazylike : 12-15-2009 at 09:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2009, 05:26 AM
nebowe nebowe is offline
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Langley BC
Posts: 223
nebowe Unknown Newbie
Reputation: 10
damn...try cleaning the egr......I wish you were in the mainland here....pull the distributor and check the bushing and the gear as well as the split pin the retains it...I"m starting to guess and I dont like to do that..
__________________
where am I going....and why am i in this handbasket
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2009, 08:22 AM
crazylike crazylike is offline
Make your own-iEdit Title in 'User CP'
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Westbank
Posts: 1,372
crazylike bad newbie
Reputation: 8
what should i use to clean the egr with? as for pulling distibutor i dont feel confortable doing that.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-16-2009, 05:52 PM
nebowe nebowe is offline
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Langley BC
Posts: 223
nebowe Unknown Newbie
Reputation: 10
take out the egr and carefully clean as much carbon off the seat to make sure it seals....we were talking about your problem at lunch today and one of the guys thinks that it may be your intake temp sensor that is giving you trouble...hence the black smoke after it warms up, it thinks that the motor still needs the enrichment circuit
__________________
where am I going....and why am i in this handbasket
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Design By: Resourcelabz.se