PDA

View Full Version : Good Mechanics Shop

yoda thrills
03-30-2009, 11:52 PM
lookin for a GOOD shop or even a REPUTABLE garage mechanic to do the piston rings and valves for my 22r with a 20r head.
i have lots of blow by (smoke nd oil exiting the breather filter on the valve cover)
i would definetly be willing to help or just watch so i can get an understanding of how to do the job
i have been told of.......B and J in poco or somthing. but im curious as to what maple ridge offers for mechanics
thank you greatly
bottoms up

Spedley
03-31-2009, 01:40 AM
Go for it yourself! Take the cash you would pay someone else and buy the tools and literature (pics too) and learn. Not a really hard project. Just a little confidence and a wtf? attitude and you'll be rockin in no time!

pumpkin
03-31-2009, 05:54 AM
B&J is a good machine shop, I've been using them for over 25 years.

Toyquad
03-31-2009, 07:51 AM
yup b&j is good.

go buy a haynes manual and do it yourself. it aint that hard. only special tool you will need is a torque wrench.... and depending if you get the crank ground or not... plastagauge

yoda thrills
03-31-2009, 11:20 AM
i do own a haynse manual.
and have a general understanding of the motor so on nd so forth
should i pull the motor or can i leave it in the truck what would be best?
on a scale 1-5, 5 being the hardest what would ya'll rate this job as?
personally i want to do this job, but at the same time i know that if i bring it to a shop the chances of shit goin rong are alot less than if i did it my self. nd the shop will give me a warranty ( i hope )
thanks

Toyquad
03-31-2009, 11:31 AM
it all depends how much $$ you wanna spend.

proper way would be to pull the motor, take it to a machine shop, have them bore the cylinders, grind the crank and size the rods. Have the head planed and pessure checked. new valve guides and valves ground etc.