PDA

View Full Version : Flood wiring..


Lynx
02-21-2009, 03:06 AM
I got 3 front procomp lights and 2 rear. I'm guessing their 100-130 watts, any way to tell?

If they are 100 watt would it be safe to run the front 3 through a heavy duty 25amp fused toggle switch? 100watt \ 12v = 8.3A each x 3 = 25A. Or for 130 watt x 3 = 32A. Using 12V not 14v because they are rated at 12v 25 amp in the catalog I think.

I don't wanna wire up more relays if I don't have to.


-Cory

Lynx
02-21-2009, 03:09 AM
okay so i guess a smart way would be to test wire them up and put an ammeter on them... Are the switches rated conservatively (would 30amps melt it down)?

trencher
02-21-2009, 09:35 AM
A relay is still the best wau to do it. You won't fry shit that way and have less amps running into your cab. Doesn't take much more to do it right

Nutbar
02-21-2009, 09:36 AM
I like to say ALWAYS run a high current circut through a relay.

and with some experiments a buddy and I found that 2 - 100w lights on a 40 amp relay no problem. 3 - 100w lights on a 40 amp relay relay gets very hot and has considerably less service life. 4 - 100w lights on a 40 amp relay and the relay has dramatic meltdown in a few moments.

so to answer your question I would not run 3 - 100w + lights off of just a switch on your dash or you will probably end up having an electrical fire.

85_GMC_4x4
02-21-2009, 11:02 AM
I'd also run a relay. That way you can run just a single, small, low-current wire to the switch. Keep all the fat wires short (less voltage drop/loss) and under the hood.

A 30amp relay should be able to handle 30amps without issue so long as they are in a spot with some air circulation. Were these cheap relay's?

Trooper
02-21-2009, 12:18 PM
I owuld use a relay. Solid state relays are way more reliable. I have my fog lights hooked up to one of these.

http://www.leeselectronic.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=95_97&products_id=6499 These are much more effient

Lynx
02-21-2009, 12:51 PM
okay relays it is then.

I got probably like 4 or 5 relays to wire up. Where can I find some type of relay/fuse box. I already checked princess auto and canadian tire...

nbrowser
02-21-2009, 07:34 PM
I like to say ALWAYS run a high current circut through a relay.

and with some experiments a buddy and I found that 2 - 100w lights on a 40 amp relay no problem. 3 - 100w lights on a 40 amp relay relay gets very hot and has considerably less service life. 4 - 100w lights on a 40 amp relay and the relay has dramatic meltdown in a few moments.

so to answer your question I would not run 3 - 100w + lights off of just a switch on your dash or you will probably end up having an electrical fire.

Relays in this case for damn sure, why bother running heavy wire from the front to the dash when you can run small stuff to the dash, and plop a relay close to the battery/lights and run heavy duty wire a short distance, just remember to fuse everything, the relay, the switch etc. better safe than burnt out.