PDA

View Full Version : Air Compressors


kvince
02-03-2009, 10:35 AM
anyone got any recommendations for a decent compressor? i killed my pos bynford my dad left at my place over the weekend. looking for something better.

i saw a 17gal 1.1hp upright porter cable at costco while getting groceries last night for $300.

they also have a 5hp speedaire heavy duty one at kms for $522 after doing a quick check online.

i won't be using it all day everyday, but when i do work on my truck or friends trucks, i'd like to be able to use a decent impact gun without killing another compressor.

Any thoughts?

[cheers]

mus-Tard
02-03-2009, 12:43 PM
l had a colman 11 gal 4 horse that worked great. till the pipe that ran from the tank to the regulator got a crack in it and stuped me tryed taking it a part to fix the dam think for got how the switch goes back together and now there is some broken pipe that needs to be easy outed. if you want you MIGHT be able to have it. l kinda gave it to some one else but l dont think he realy wants it.

kvince
02-03-2009, 02:25 PM
if he doesn't take it, i'll take it off your hands for sure!!

dirka dave
02-05-2009, 07:03 PM
I have tons of ideas for on board air.... PM me

The fuzz
02-05-2009, 08:22 PM
porter cable is a great make... check Lance bissiet

theborges
02-05-2009, 08:47 PM
well do you have 120 or 240V you can hook up too. that greatly effects your choices

dirka dave
02-05-2009, 08:49 PM
12v or nothing.....

Leithmc
02-06-2009, 08:58 AM
I have a compressor with a 11horse electric start industrial honda engine on it. Fairly low hours on the engine. 25 cfm airking pump and a new clutch. I believe the tank is 60 gallons. I used to use it on a tire service truck. it'll run a 1" gun no prob. It'd keep up with anything you could possibly do around the house and then some. It's just taking up space around here. I'll take $500.00 for it.

kvince
02-06-2009, 09:39 AM
currently i only have 120v but i can get a 240installed no problem.

dave, you got a pm

[cheers]