PDA

View Full Version : Looking to find a Ford crate motor.


Daveforded
10-20-2008, 07:17 PM
Hey all ive been looking around on the net and havent found anything other than on ebay. I currently have a 1990 ford f-150 with a 302 in it and well it's not enough power as i have a six inch lift and 35's. I want to find a 351w and an automatic tranny to swap out my standard my truck. Any help would be appreciated.

Dave

Rye Guy
10-20-2008, 08:26 PM
Should be plenty o power if you change your gears, which you have to do regardless of the motor you have.[cheers]

FordMclovin
10-25-2008, 05:08 PM
is it a blue f150? With some make shift body work? Red seats? With mickey thompsons 35" tires.
If so thats my old truck....

Daveforded
10-25-2008, 05:59 PM
No man mines red

Explorer guy418
10-25-2008, 06:17 PM
i had a 302 with more power then my buddys 351.standard tranny.

In The Zone
10-25-2008, 09:39 PM
I know where you can get 351 winsdor for cheap just a short block....

Daveforded
10-26-2008, 07:54 PM
Well my issues have grown.Not only do i need a motor but now i also need a tranny as i no longer have reverse....So now i need a strong 351 and a tranny i now have a standard tranny but want to go to an automatic without changing my steering coloumn. so does anyone know if i can use my standard shifter to change the gears on an automatic without changing my column.....?

nbrowser
10-26-2008, 08:23 PM
Well my issues have grown.Not only do i need a motor but now i also need a tranny as i no longer have reverse....So now i need a strong 351 and a tranny i now have a standard tranny but want to go to an automatic without changing my steering coloumn. so does anyone know if i can use my standard shifter to change the gears on an automatic without changing my column.....?

Just put a floor auto shifter in......should work, a manual shifter doesn't have enough travel to go from P to low....

Deathtrap
10-26-2008, 09:26 PM
You cant use your shifter for an auto. Its part of your tranny, re-gear to 4.56's and find a ZF-5spd out of an F250, youll like it better than an auto.

I have a 302 in my fullsize bronco on 35's, with the 4.56's and the ZF, I can smoke my tires, couldnt do that with the sluggish auto tranny.

Daveforded
10-26-2008, 11:30 PM
ive had both and prefer the auto mostly cause i'm lazy lol...either way so does anyone have a motor and a tranny?...

Rye Guy
10-30-2008, 01:00 PM
I have a 302 motor and tranny '94 bronco 178000 orig km's

Daveforded
10-30-2008, 05:05 PM
How much do you want for them....?