PDA

View Full Version : Hours to do a Timing chain R&R

Maelthra
09-29-2008, 05:56 PM
I just need the hours that a shop would quote me to do a timing chain on an 84 Dodge Ram 360. Local shop here says 6 hours and I think its BS.

ShuswapRedneck
09-29-2008, 09:05 PM
probably about right...it was 8 hours to do my intake plenum gasket...6 hours they say to do ball joints. I'll search around and see if I can find that list that shops use that give ballpark times for certain jobs.

Tehaids
09-30-2008, 09:43 AM
I can see if taking about that. Once you figure in the time to take the front of the truck off, grill, rad, fan, water pump and cover, thats a couple hours already. Then the time to put in the chain, gears and tensioners. I could see it taking around that long, but then im not a professional mechanic so it would take me longer.

Maelthra
09-30-2008, 06:59 PM
Whoa whoa, taking the front clip off? look under the hood of your truck, I know in mine there's like 6-8" from the front of the block to the rad, at least. To me, it looks like you remove the belts, rad hoses, water pump, maybe the alt and p/s bracket, and the timing cover.

Though, I could be wrong, I'll admit I have in the past.

epic3
10-01-2008, 12:31 AM
24 year old truck original chain never been opned up I'd say thats not far off.
Its always wise to quote high and quote for all parts possible water pump timing cover front main seal ect ect.
Make sure they do the front main tho labour/parts wont be much more cus they are already there but it'll save you hundreds in a couple years if ya dont

nbrowser
10-01-2008, 08:13 AM
hrm our books say 3.1 hours.....

Lurker
10-01-2008, 12:05 PM
Shouldn't take six hours, easy job if you can remember in your head where everything goes.

m j
10-01-2008, 05:46 PM
do they still have the Mitchell manuals in the librarys?
go look it up yourself and photocopy the page

really though if you can do it faster then the shop, just do it.

Maelthra
10-01-2008, 06:00 PM