PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Friggen Air Care


redman
04-09-2008, 11:47 AM
So I modified my truck 2001 4Runner with a set of after market Downey cermaic coated stainless headders.

Now many years later ICBC in their wisdon have changed how 1998 and newer vehicles are tested. I no longer go through an idle test its just the OBD 2 scan test.

Well my engin lights are on as the computer is noticing that either ther 02 censor is dead or its noticing that my first CAT ( my truck had 2 ) is now gone.

So of course I am not able t o renew my insurance until the engine lights go away and there is no longer a code.

I am going to have the code checked again this Friday moring.

So right now I can pay cash for a full years insurance and the ndeal with this issue next year which I may do.

or

I can look to fix the problem which I will have to at some point, annoying thing is I did not save the factory headders and the cat wont fit now with the after market headders.

any one got any suggestions.

I can get my vehicle to 5001 GVW if I can find an inspection facility willing to do that for me.

what a fukin pain in the ass

go fuck yourself air care

FKN MRK
04-09-2008, 11:50 AM
[cheers]ill pm ya what i did:D

230
04-09-2008, 12:00 PM
The code is probly for the o2 rather than the cat.You can rig up a spot for an o2 sensor somwhere and that should do it.

epic3
04-09-2008, 12:06 PM
do what I suggested lastnight

dirka dave
04-09-2008, 12:07 PM
I love my old 82 Toy.....
Pre-emmission, no cat., only two vacuum lines !

FKN MRK
04-09-2008, 12:10 PM
I love my old 82 Toy.....
Pre-emmission, no cat., only two vacuum lines !
:mad0215: thats not helpfull fish......

dirka dave
04-09-2008, 12:12 PM
I've got a new snap-on scanner....:dontknow:

yummysweet350
04-09-2008, 12:16 PM
i hate aircare :D

redman
04-09-2008, 12:17 PM
do what I suggested lastnight


yeah but i look and my O2 censors are in place, Im goingto ge tthe diagonistic done so I can see which part is being indicated as not working.

redline
04-09-2008, 12:20 PM
reub, you should talk to dirka his scanner can read obd2 cheaper than goin to a dealer. he could probly clear the message,might be an old code?

Apathy
04-09-2008, 01:00 PM
you should be able to get a parts store to scan it for free.

Autozones down in the states will tell you what the problem is for free.

dirka dave
04-09-2008, 01:03 PM
I'll scan it for beer....

redman
04-09-2008, 01:42 PM
I'll scan it for beer....

you know i normally would take ya up on this however i live right dwon town and do not have the time to get out during the week. My weekend is booked as Phill is putting my new amp in.

I will keep that in mind and I do appericate it [cheers]

Murd0c
04-09-2008, 03:19 PM
Just to let you know you can only bump your gvw on trucks and the last time I checked you drive a SUV

epic3
04-09-2008, 03:35 PM
yeah but i look and my O2 censors are in place, Im goingto ge tthe diagonistic done so I can see which part is being indicated as not working.

OK then whats its telling you is your cat isnt working.
One sensor goes before the cat and one goes after they are supposed to have differing readings the first one reading higher hydro carbons than the second one and if they read the same hydro carbons then the cat is pooched (in your case missing) and the engine light comes on.
What I would do is install a cat farther down the line and extend your second O2 sensor behind it then reflash your ecu and the light will go out stay out and you will still have your header[cheers]

Ironman
04-09-2008, 03:38 PM
easy fix buddy.........



































































burn it..... wow been a while since i said that

epic3
04-09-2008, 03:43 PM
very mature Jay!

Ironman
04-09-2008, 03:51 PM
very mature Jay!

shut it
if anyone wanted to hear from you we would ask your boss to let you out from under his desk

redman
04-09-2008, 04:16 PM
shut it
if anyone wanted to hear from you we would ask your boss to let you out from under his desk


hey I heard your giveing our free BJ's these days.

should this have been via PM?


yup Tuna's an asshole2

Ironman
04-09-2008, 04:18 PM
No tuna is now a PHIL no safe zone for him

epic3
04-09-2008, 04:35 PM
No tuna is now a PHIL no safe zone for him

force in numbers my friend do ya think you could handle tuna squishy and me on one camping trip with no safe zones?

Ironman
04-09-2008, 04:37 PM
force in numbers my friend do ya think you could handle tuna squishy and me on one camping trip with no safe zones?



hell ya that is like a dream weekend for me. So much payback so little time

epic3
04-09-2008, 04:42 PM
hell ya that is like a dream weekend for me. So much payback so little time

I can picture the horror now

You gonna have your Leather Bear suit in full shine:eek:

cruizer
04-09-2008, 04:45 PM
yeah but i look and my O2 censors are in place, Im goingto ge tthe diagonistic done so I can see which part is being indicated as not working.

ones is a a/f sensor and ones a 02 big diff and if there not in the right place ie down or upstream of the correct cats your SOL it is most likely a cat effecency code...pm if you want a hand

duff
04-09-2008, 06:15 PM
take it to jeep thrills, ther air care certifyed now, and work on everything, not just jeeps.

redman
04-09-2008, 06:49 PM
ones is a a/f sensor and ones a 02 big diff and if there not in the right place ie down or upstream of the correct cats your SOL it is most likely a cat effecency code...pm if you want a hand



I need a hand PM sent [cheers]

Ironman
04-09-2008, 07:49 PM
I can picture the horror now

You gonna have your Leather Bear suit in full shine:eek:


i better invest in some armour all

redman
04-09-2008, 08:39 PM
i better invest in some armour all


so no free BJ's ?




[15] [15]

Ironman
04-09-2008, 08:51 PM
so no free BJ's ?




[15] [15]


nope

kootenaycat
04-09-2008, 11:02 PM
Like already stated, you'll have a cat code, probably P0420 cat inefficiency, or if your post O2's are missing altogether, then it'll be another code(s) for heater circuit(s) open. Should be able to put an aftermarket cat in and the rear O2 sensor to make it pass.

redman
04-10-2008, 07:46 AM
Like already stated, you'll have a cat code, probably P0420 cat inefficiency, or if your post O2's are missing altogether, then it'll be another code(s) for heater circuit(s) open. Should be able to put an aftermarket cat in and the rear O2 sensor to make it pass.


I think thats what im gonna try to do. Ill post the code tomorrow once I find out which one it is.

[cheers]

redman
04-15-2008, 04:57 PM
So a bunch of codes came up, I had to replace the charcol canister what ever the fuk that is and the air flow censor.

952 bucks all said and done.

Air care gets even funnier my truck failed the OBD 2 code scan but it passed whe nthe put in on the machine

What a fuken joke

all said and done so I passed and I wont have to deal with this shit till 2010

itesttv
05-06-2008, 08:57 PM
I wonder, if it only reads the o2 sensors to tell the the ecu if the cat is working ie:diff readings. Could you put resister in line in only one to get the voltage differial ?If aircare only reads ecu rather than tail pipe.It may be a way around your problem.

cruizer
05-07-2008, 02:59 PM
I wonder, if it only reads the o2 sensors to tell the the ecu if the cat is working ie:diff readings. Could you put resister in line in only one to get the voltage differial ?If aircare only reads ecu rather than tail pipe.It may be a way around your problem.

so the ecu can figure out if your cat is screwed but not if you have put a resitor inline with the 02......:confused0006:

redman
05-07-2008, 04:19 PM
so the problem was the charcol canister? WTF is that so I had it changed and the asir flow censor engine codes are gone fuel economy is up and I passed Airscare.

thanks for the input folks [cheers]

Trooper
05-07-2008, 06:22 PM
If you have an oiled air filter you should have another mass air flow senser on hand.

cruizer
05-07-2008, 11:09 PM
If you have an oiled air filter you should have another mass air flow senser on hand.

carb cleaner is a little cheaper too keep around dont you think:confused:

Hello Kitty
05-07-2008, 11:12 PM
i cleand my plugs and floor mats and still failed. even with puttin a splash of diesel in with fermaldihyde.

fuck.

girlcrazy_4
05-08-2008, 08:30 AM
so the ecu can figure out if your cat is screwed but not if you have put a resitor inline with the 02......:confused0006:

o2 sensors pick up a signal (exaust) and it changes the voltage going to the computer and says that everything is a-okay. When the o2 wears out, it than sends improper voltages to the computer and the computer knows that something is-not right.

Now, you figure out the operating resistance for a new o2 and buy a resistor with the same properties. I've done this concept on a few cars, but to bypass the air-temp-sensor so the car thinks its running cooler therefor making a little bit more power.

girlcrazy_4
05-08-2008, 08:31 AM
Whats air-care? :D

cruizer
05-08-2008, 12:18 PM
o2 sensors pick up a signal (exaust) and it changes the voltage going to the computer and says that everything is a-okay. When the o2 wears out, it than sends improper voltages to the computer and the computer knows that something is-not right.

Now, you figure out the operating resistance for a new o2 and buy a resistor with the same properties. I've done this concept on a few cars, but to bypass the air-temp-sensor so the car thinks its running cooler therefor making a little bit more power.

your a genius[cheers].... the ecu is looking for a diffrence in voltage.. how does limiting voltage help ie reduceing the sweep help:dontknow:

pumpkin
05-08-2008, 01:06 PM
I love reading all this bachyard stuff[15] [15] [15]For the most part 02 sensors make voltage. Zero to one volt (except for early stupid Jeeps) .45 of a volt is perfect air fuel ratio. The 02 when working properly switches back and forth from about .2 to .8 of a volt. It does this as the computer is constantly richening and leaning the fuel.When an 02 goes bad it no longer produces enough voltage. When it gets to the point where it will ony go to say .4 of a volt, the computer sees a lean condituon and tries to richen the fuel mixture. There you go basic 02 operation.

I've heard if you piss on the drivers seat it increases your chances of passing by 80%:happy0045:

girlcrazy_4
05-08-2008, 09:32 PM
I've heard if you piss on the drivers seat it increases your chances of passing by 80%:happy0045:

I heard that the piss is caused from passing with a underpowered vehicle :dontknow: