PDA

View Full Version : Cracked the frame finally! Now to fix it...

godtool
02-25-2008, 08:16 AM
I paid the price for running 39.5" super swampers. The frame has a 2" crack around the outside bottom of the frame at the rear of the steering box. I'm told I can buy a patch\gusset kit for this at the coast or in PG. I've seen them for sale in the magazines from the states too. Can anyone send me in the right direction to buy it? Or send me plans how to make one. I have a 295 Amp AC welder but am told a mig would do a better job. I'm not good at welding above my head either:( . I'll most likely hire a mobile welder to come weld it at my place I guess.:party0010:

Kingblazer84
02-25-2008, 11:29 AM
i would take it and get it done at a frame shop someone who knows what they are doing and is licensed.... but you can buy steering box brace kits from most lift companys like superlift and BDS they make them

HEAVY METAL
02-25-2008, 11:39 AM
throw it away.. start with new frame....

brothergrimms
02-25-2008, 12:32 PM
just go get a other frame section go 6in on both sides of the steerin box weld the crack grind it cut the rails of the section you frame bolt it were the box is weld it to the frame dont go buy aftermartket their junk......... this is the strongest way i runnin 44s and 42s have for years [cheers]

godtool
02-26-2008, 07:23 AM
Yah, I'd rather do that brothergrimms! That I can do, I could even fab the brace my self out of 1/4" plate. As for getting a couple pieces of frame sections 6" long, do you or anyone you know have pieces of frame kickin' around?

brothergrimms
02-26-2008, 12:17 PM
if you can get horky to pull up my trail fix on the steerin box you will see how easy the fix is by the way i rip my box off the frame at davis lake far end and rememeber put it over your frame to make it stronger[cheers]

brothergrimms
02-26-2008, 12:21 PM
yes i do have that piece shot me your address i'll send you the piece

Troy
02-27-2008, 12:27 AM