PDA

View Full Version : tranny question ...


bcwheeler
01-18-2008, 12:24 PM
Ok I went to ralphs and got a tranny fo rthe chev, Now I found out its off a 4.3 and its going on a 350 ???? guy at ralphs says it is the same transmission just needs that6 adapter thingy which I have anyway I sthis true

Its off a 4x4 jimmy 700r4 going on an older 350???

kootenaycat
01-18-2008, 11:33 PM
Ok I went to ralphs and got a tranny fo rthe chev, Now I found out its off a 4.3 and its going on a 350 ???? guy at ralphs says it is the same transmission just needs that6 adapter thingy which I have anyway I sthis true

Its off a 4x4 jimmy 700r4 going on an older 350???

4.3 has a SBC bellhousing design, so should bolt up. As far as strength, I have no idea if the V-6 auto internals are as strong as the V-8 trans. I've seen 4.3 to 350 swaps where the 700R4 held up, well as best as one of them can. :D

nbrowser
01-19-2008, 06:10 PM
As fas as I know the trans will bolt up yes, however.....from knowledge it will need a shift kit to make it work better on the wider powerband of the 350.....just using the head here...

In The Zone
01-20-2008, 07:06 PM
the 7004r4 it will bolt up throttle cable and all but you need to feed it a proper signal for the electronic side.....basically a turbo 350 with a 4 spd electronic od.

of course i could be talking out of my ass cause im a FORD MAN>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

ROBO
01-20-2008, 08:35 PM
4.3 and 350 700r4 trans .. basicly the same.. yes differnt shift kits .. but will do ya fine.. just make shure the output spline count is the one ya want there are a few differnt ones out there.