PDA

View Full Version : 89 XJ 4.0, idles at an amazing 1,800RPM !

nbrowser
11-28-2007, 11:53 PM
As the title states, my lil XJ has started to idle at about 1,800RPM :eek: ....silly I know, any ideas as I'm new to this engine ! I took it wheelin this past sunday, rocked it a lot and managed to unsettle some vacuum lines but have reatached the ones I could find to make it driveable again but that idle is a stumping point, HELP !

Matt
11-29-2007, 10:08 AM
early xj's are know for throttle position sensor problems causing a high idle. carefull though they need to be adjusted properly when installed.

nbrowser
12-02-2007, 09:30 PM
Welp, my scaner reports the TPS is functioning properly, 0 to 100 when the pedal is mashed in a smooth motion, checked each and every vacuum line on the rig, everything is connected to where it's supposed to go.....I cleaned the IAC, throttly body n intake all nice, stumped as I might be I"ll figure the fucker out and get it back on the trails. Oh anyone know of a place to get front sway bar disconnects for a stock height XJ ? I'm planning on simply removing the back one completely......don't need the thing.

HooliganXJ
12-02-2007, 11:40 PM
high idle can also be caused by an intake leak. Mine did the same thing check it by spraying carb cleaner or similiar along the intake manifold if the idle drops that is where the leak is

lornix
12-04-2007, 06:19 PM
Same thing was happening to me when I first got my XJ. Drove me nuts! What I discovered is that sometimes I would put my foot into it a bit when starting the beast. The idle would be all over the map until I shut it off for 10 minutes or so. It seemed like the idle would stay at whatever RPM I was at when I depressed the clutch pedal. Once I realized what I was doing and stopped doing it, the problem only occurs once in a blue moon now. I think "assisting" it to start messes up the idle sensor somehow.

I dunno, might be worth a shot.

nbrowser
12-13-2007, 06:25 PM