PDA

View Full Version : Welding diffs

bakelite
11-16-2007, 07:07 PM
I've been searching all over and can't find a real good write up on welding the diffs on an older, early 80's toy. I pretty much need pictures as I've never done one before. Any help would be appreciated. From what I have found I can just weld the spiders in a few spots and be good :dontknow:

Just for an off road only thing I am playing with using junk I got, cheapo build kinda thing. Thanks. [cheers]

kylemartz
11-16-2007, 09:37 PM
weld the shit outa the gears together and if ur not worried about the carrier weld the gears to that, ive got a shitty third with welded spyders and 4.10's if interested

toyota_dan
11-16-2007, 09:41 PM
lots of ways to do it, your basicly looking to stop the spider gears from rotating....some people just weld till they fill the whole center of the carrier solid, some people weld the contact points on the spider gears on both sides and call it good, some people say thats a bad idea and weld the spiders strait to the carrier... heres what i did.

weld the contact "corners" of the 4 spider/side gears on one side together so that the gears wont rotate anymore and cut a square piece of thick(1/2" or so) mild steel to fit tightly into the opening of the spider gears on the other side and weld it to the gears the whole way round aswell....i liked this method as it left a strong solid center instead of just a few short beads on the gears themselves and i didnt have to spend an hour and a full pack of rods filling it to achieve that...