PDA

View Full Version : Might be getting a '89 Cherokee LTD, Any prepurchase info ?"

nbrowser
10-31-2007, 05:44 PM
Gonna go take a lookie at this '89 XJ Limited tomorrow, anything specific I should look for in the driveline/mechanical I really want a 4X4 and this is priced within my means here.....thanks in advance guys

lil update, it's an 89.....the advertiser put it as an 88, the VIN says 89......

broken_down
10-31-2007, 06:17 PM
check the rearmain seal, valve cover seal and oil filter seal for leaks. they are notorious on jeeps, along with a ton of other shit....

If you need parts let me know!

Lynx
11-01-2007, 06:40 AM
biggest thing is look for unibody rust and maybe aircare....

nbrowser
11-01-2007, 08:09 AM
AirCare = no prob, I'm a mechanic.....can make anything pass literally....but yah I'll be flashlighting it all over.....and I know I"ll be jacking up the front end and checking the balljoints n stuff..just want my first 4x4 so bad like lol I can almost taste it.

crazylike
11-01-2007, 09:39 AM
don't get a cherokee i had a 89 nothing but troubles they have master / slave cylinders for the clutch if it standard, its a really shitty system get hard wheelin and boom no clutch. ball joints and shit up front is sub standard never holds up. OVER ALL THERE CRAP. i had to rebuild my jeep ever 90 000kms and i don't mean just little stuff i mean the whole drive train. oh and there the over heating issues witht he straight 6 and the retarded way they have the cooling system. trust me you don't want a cherokee unless you like spending all your money on fixing your toy.

StillRYE
11-01-2007, 12:37 PM
Be prepared to start blowing guys because if you drive a jeep that means your gay

Leithmc
11-01-2007, 02:00 PM