PDA

View Full Version : Auto transmission on Ford - Problems


Taxidermy
09-25-2007, 07:05 PM
Grandpa have problems with automatic transmission on Ford. 1990 F-250 460 Heavy Duty 4x4. After trip to Jewel lake, next day. Go up a hill and it not go. Tranny flued full, but dark brown and burnt smell. Know not good. Got it home, but sometimes works. Sometimes does not work. When works it has all gears working fine. Sometimes goes slow, like slipping. Is there computer cause problems or maybe transmission big trouble. Any ideas? Use with heavy load. Camper and boat trailer. Not want to spend big money on repair. 255,000 kms.

toyon35s
09-25-2007, 07:08 PM
do a fluid swap,and add a lucus transmission aditive,should be better,if that dont work,you might need a new tranny[cheers]

Taxidermy
09-25-2007, 07:12 PM
do a fluid swap,and add a lucus transmission aditive,should be better,if that dont work,you might need a new tranny[cheers]

Thanks!!!!

ROBO
09-25-2007, 07:17 PM
dude your spendin $$$ on that trans its i need of a rebuild

toyon35s
09-25-2007, 07:20 PM
its pretty cheap to do a fluid swap if you do it your self,its only auto box tranny fluid,the lucas is only 15$,so all together it should only cost at maximum 50$[cheers]

Toyquad
09-25-2007, 08:25 PM
its pretty cheap to do a fluid swap if you do it your self,its only auto box tranny fluid,the lucas is only 15$,so all together it should only cost at maximum 50$[cheers]

thats true....... but it sounds like theres more wrong with it..... if im not mistaken.... robo works at a tranny shop......so if he says its more then fluid i would agree to that

Gaybait
09-29-2007, 12:52 PM
:s30x: thats true....... but it sounds like theres more wrong with it..... if im not mistaken.... robo works at a tranny shop......so if he says its more then fluid i would agree to that

cj5sean
09-30-2007, 06:51 PM
So is it an A40D or a c-6?

fordpower
09-30-2007, 08:23 PM
Probably a A4OD:dontknow:

derricklordon
10-02-2007, 12:58 PM
if it comes and goes sounds like it may need a valve body looked at as well

cj5sean
10-05-2007, 10:42 PM
Ive only ever had problems with the a40d ended up using a c-6 no comparasin for strength

parcy jones
10-23-2007, 07:14 PM
the only way to do a full oil change in that tranny is to flush it completly at a shop with the right machines... but ya it sounds like rebuid time