PDA

View Full Version : standard to auto


Millhouse
04-29-2007, 11:21 PM
just blew my 4 speed standard in me Blazer i got a line on cheap auto thinking of converting over lets hear some opinions.

PIGDOG
04-30-2007, 12:29 AM
I prefer the 4 speed. They can be found for cheap.

u2slow
04-30-2007, 12:42 AM
just blew my 4 speed standard in me Blazer i got a line on cheap auto thinking of converting over lets hear some opinions.

Sure you didn't blow a clutch? Strip a driveshaft?

Auto is a step backwards... you won't get any support from me on that [16]

tenpack
04-30-2007, 07:48 AM
You're going to need: a flexplate, a tranny, possibly different tcase cause of what spline count your tranny is. You can make the crossmember work, and possible driveshaft mods to make em fit, since a auto is longer.


First:

remove all old std. trans stuff

-put on flexplate, torque to specs(65? i can check for ya)

-jack up tranny and put onto rear crossmember first, let it rest on that and then attatch housing bolts to engine. Attatch 3 bolts from flexplate to toruqe converter.

-Attatch tcase/yokes,

-Hookup tranny kickdown vaccum line to engine

-Install racther shift(easier, i recommend) and patch big old hole.



My turbo400 is nice,3 forward gears sucks though.J'd rather have a sm465 with the low, eventhough its rarely used for street.. Better mileage, more control over what gear you're in, and im my opinion more bulletproof.

u2slow
04-30-2007, 09:17 AM
If its an 81-91 Blazer, all the trans/tcase combinations are the same length so there's no differnce on the driveshafts.

T-case splines and input patterns will limit what transmissions are easy to bolt up.

Post up your rig's specs and we can better figure out how to not help you. :p

Kinslayer
04-30-2007, 09:53 AM
I'm doing an auto to standard right now, haha.

To do the REVERSE of what i'm doin, you need to:

Remove tranny, clutch, flywheel, pilot bearing (hard part), and clutch linkage..
then you need auto tranny linkage (I have some <wink wink>), and you need an auto steering column. You also need a flex plate, torque converter and tranny.

There is approximately an 8 inch difference in overall length between my th350 and my new 465 setup. (standard being shorter)

u2slow
04-30-2007, 10:17 AM
There is approximately an 8 inch difference in overall length between my th350 and my new 465 setup. (standard being shorter)

Yah, but I'm sure you have NP205s and 70's parts in the mix.
Any 81-91 K5, K10, or K20 has the same trans/tcase length regardless of the exact trans or t-case used from the factory. (except for the '91 4L80E).

Kinslayer
04-30-2007, 10:27 AM
Yah, but I'm sure you have NP205s and 70's parts in the mix.
Any 81-91 K5, K10, or K20 has the same trans/tcase length regardless of the exact trans or t-case used from the factory. (except for the '91 4L80E).

Sorry, yeah, my 465 and 205 are from the 70s. I wasn't saying you were wrong, was just indicating that it's not always that case.

Millhouse
04-30-2007, 05:10 PM
hmm so i take it the better part of the crowd thinks that it is better to get another standard tranny?

HEAVY METAL
04-30-2007, 06:32 PM
standard yo....

Chev4.3
04-30-2007, 07:10 PM
i got a auto you can have

toyon35s
04-30-2007, 07:17 PM
the 4speed only has one down fall,tryin to climb over shit with controlled speed,but id stick with it[36] [36]

tenpack
04-30-2007, 08:15 PM
im planning on ditching my turbo400 if my 1st gear is pooched. Whatever floats your boat, the t400 and sm465 are both good and durable. It's wether or not you can figure out the two brake pedals....