PDA

View Full Version : Rear Diff Questions

fishrips
01-25-2007, 07:42 PM
Well the time has come to replace the rear diff on my 1/2 ton '76 chev. It's got a load of play in it, both on the driveshaft and axle sides. The brakes also need to be done. I was told by the previous owner of the truck that it has a "ratchet locker"... I havn't heard of that kind of locker before. I'm not a pro mechanic by any means, and I've never done a diff before, so I thought I'd run my ideas by ya'll.

1. I was thinking that if I could find an entire rear axle at a yard (pick&pull, etc..) with the same gear ratio I could just do an entire axle swap. Wondering if that is a good option. What do I look for to find an axle with the same gearing ratio. It would be great to find an axle with at least a limited slip, which I understand was a factory option. What is the price range for an entire axle from a junkyard as opposed to rebuilding the diff?

2. Could I swap out the 1/2 ton axle for a 3/4 ton? I'm running 35's right now and pull trailers, so the extra strength wouldn't hurt.

Thanks in advance!

In The Zone
01-25-2007, 07:48 PM
definatley look for a 6 lug semi float 14blt if that is what u got presuming it is a 6 lug pattern..

big up grade and will last the life of your truck

the ratchet locker per say is more likely a gov lok waiting to go boom...

u2slow
01-25-2007, 08:12 PM

Not to mislead, but I've heard Detroits being referred to as ratchet lockers before. They do have some inherent slop in them too - which is normal.

The other 2 axles are definite upgrades. I'd probably run a Detroited 12b up to 35" tires if my truck came with one.

B
01-25-2007, 08:36 PM
definatley look for a 6 lug semi float 14blt if that is what u got presuming it is a 6 lug pattern..

big up grade and will last the life of your truck

[stupid]

cheap reliable and bolts in ... is it a 4 wheel or 2 wheel drive ?

and get the gears u want for bigger tires ....

u2slow
01-25-2007, 08:39 PM