PDA

View Full Version : guess what draws 140 amps?


trailburban
12-30-2006, 12:00 AM
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
it's ...
my ...

12V onboard air setup
I decided to check the amp draw and was kinda suprized to find that it draws 140 amps. voltage only drops to 11.6 though. (explains the dim headlights)

anyone wanna guess how long my new 190 amp alternator will last with that much of a load?

Toyrantula
12-30-2006, 12:03 AM
A shitloaad longer than my 60 amp toy alternator can handle the winch or a total of 1850 watts of stereo.

I had a fprmila to figure out current, amperage and voltage draw of anything 12volt. I think it was on my stereo site. See if I can find it.

Tmax
12-30-2006, 12:19 AM
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
it's ...
my ...

12V onboard air setup
I decided to check the amp draw and was kinda suprized to find that it draws 140 amps. voltage only drops to 11.6 though. (explains the dim headlights)

anyone wanna guess how long my new 190 amp alternator will last with that much of a load?

how the hell did you mesure 140 amps?

cruizer
12-30-2006, 12:27 AM
Learn how to use an amp meter[16] 140 amps would fry the compressor

cruizer
12-30-2006, 12:34 AM
Then again.. maybe you idea of onboard air is 100ci comperssor and a starter motor:confused0006:

In The Zone
12-30-2006, 07:54 AM
ya that seems like wayyyyyyyyyyyy to much amperage draw for a 12vdc compressor

what model perhaps we can set u straight
u should not have dim headlights
even at 11vdc

if running u should have min 13.5 -15.0 vdc

i think u got some electrical issues:dontknow:

sj-x 500
12-30-2006, 08:39 AM
how the hell did you mesure 140 amps?


amp clamp homeboy, hooks up to your voltmeter in the millivolt range, and you put it around the cable with current in it.

trailburban
12-30-2006, 10:41 PM
actually its a TES amp clamp
and the Fluke measured the same.

how did you guess that I used a starter motor?
and its got 2/0 wire running to it.
compressor runs at about 1800 RPM at 10 psi and slows to 1200 RPM when at 120 psi.

alternator puts out 14.9 amps
so at 11.6 amps with the compressor running
thats a 3.3 amp drop, and that will noticably dim the headlights.

Tmax
12-30-2006, 10:52 PM
actually its a TES amp clamp
and the Fluke measured the same.

how did you guess that I used a starter motor?
and its got 2/0 wire running to it.
compressor runs at about 1800 RPM at 10 psi and slows to 1200 RPM when at 120 psi.

alternator puts out 14.9 amps
so at 11.6 amps with the compressor running
thats a 3.3 amp drop, and that will noticably dim the headlights.

i think you mean voltage drop.

DirtyComanche
12-30-2006, 10:58 PM
So, how long is this setup supposed to last?

trailburban
12-31-2006, 12:44 AM
yeh volts, my bad

its lasted 2 months so far and no problems

Lucas
01-01-2007, 01:57 PM
absolutly retarded ,ive seen it it weighs 50+lbs and he wouldnt be able to carry it unless he had a burban..........................but at least he didngt go out and drop $$$ on a prebuilt unit