PDA

View Full Version : gas milage...?


Zeebs
12-21-2006, 04:45 PM
Hey my 91 runner recently just started having gas milage problems. I think its probably cuz my rad was fucked and then i put rad seal in it. The thurmos stat was stuck open becuase it was pluged with shit. I replaced the stat and it worked for a couple days but its probalby pluged again...i put all new fluid in it thou. Probably need a new rad and possibly maybe a water pump...? And when its cold when i hit the tap the gas the motor hesitates and then comes back to the normal rpm.....dont really know whats goin down....ne clues...?

lizard
12-23-2006, 03:06 PM
v6 or 4?

Iam thinkin TB not cooling problem unless u f'd the motor running it cold all day with a stuck thermo

Murd0c
12-23-2006, 03:44 PM
what kind of milage u getting?

trencher
12-23-2006, 08:20 PM
Sounds like it might be the ignition.
Damn ford did a similar thing last year. Just needed a coil wire that time go fuck yourself money pit [16] [16]

Zeebs
12-28-2006, 04:10 PM
v6......getting around 100-120 for the first half and probalby will be around or just under 300 for the full ride....its terrible cuz about a couple months ago i was getting 400ish....i have about 295 app...k's on it

Redneck_04
01-02-2007, 06:19 PM
maybe the thing is just plain fucked!!!!! zeebs!!

Hello Kitty
01-02-2007, 06:32 PM
360k a tank for me.



:deadhorse:

Hello Kitty
01-02-2007, 06:32 PM
Hey my 91 runner recently just started having gas milage problems. I think its probably cuz my rad was fucked and then i put rad seal in it. The thurmos stat was stuck open becuase it was pluged with shit. I replaced the stat and it worked for a couple days but its probalby pluged again...i put all new fluid in it thou. Probably need a new rad and possibly maybe a water pump...? And when its cold when i hit the tap the gas the motor hesitates and then comes back to the normal rpm.....dont really know whats goin down....ne clues...?

pm hoser on the board. think he still has a spare v-6 rad if you need it.

ToyotaHEAD
01-06-2007, 01:02 PM
any of those toy 3.0L v6's get horrible economy. I've had 2 and my brother still has one. Both of mine at best got 375/tank, usually worse. And the bro's he use to get low 400's. All three trucks were BONE STOCK, 410 gears, and the stock sized tires. Oh ya 1 was always 5spd, the other always an auto, and the bros was auto, now 5spd. All same economy really....

ToyotaHEAD
01-06-2007, 01:04 PM
Just swap out that 3.0L for the 3.4L, you'll never look back. If ya wanna see the swap with your own eyes, just stop by.

deuce
01-06-2007, 01:04 PM
check your timing
and compresion
ps that rad fix shit is the worst stuff for your engine

flipper
01-06-2007, 07:35 PM
Did you modify anything. If you haven't change them in a while the air and fuel filter can cause poor milage.

jakerngr
01-06-2007, 07:41 PM
sounds like it is running in warm up mode
the hotter your engine the better fuel economy you get

Nutbar
01-06-2007, 07:45 PM
Poor fuel economy could be a bad O2 sensor and just coincidence that it happened at the same time could be your water temp sensor got hooped from the rad sealer should get it scanned by a mechanic quick easy simple way to see if the sensors are functioning properly