PDA

View Full Version : anyone running a rev limited?

tenpack
12-18-2006, 07:33 AM
my new motors coming in, and on advise by manfucature and common sense by myself, im looking to get a rev limited. I'm running a Accel HEI disty, im assuming any company's controller will work.

Couple questions, how hard are they to install? I'm not too good with wiring[32]

Any brand better than the others? They mostly seem to be around 250-300 bucks.

Oh, due to the cam specs and whatnot my red line is gonna be 4500. thanks

Cheeky
12-18-2006, 01:26 PM
talk to pegleg[15] [15] [15] [15] [15] [15] [15] [15]

Squishy
12-18-2006, 02:02 PM
msd makes one i believe, but why not a tach with a shift light, and watch your foot?

MetalMan
12-18-2006, 06:13 PM
You can get HEI modules with built in rev limiters. Should run you less than 100 bucks, and it's a way better solution than an external rev limiter for an HEI. Why are you limiting to 4500 though? There's no point in that. Even with the lamest of stock cams I'd still let it rev to 5000.

boyzen
12-18-2006, 06:29 PM
msd makes one i believe, but why not a tach with a shift light, and watch your foot?

that would be fine driveing on the street but when its mud or rough terrain good fucking luck.

I use msd ignition with a built in rev limiter and its the soft touch rev limiter so its not so rough sounding it shuts down every second cyl every second strock works great!

MetalMan
12-18-2006, 07:14 PM
I just noticed it's a new motor...same thing, get the module, but limit it to 3500. Leave it there until the next oil change (after the break in). You don't want too many revs on a new motor period.

Tunabomber
12-18-2006, 07:18 PM
i ran msd in my t/a wif a limiter was pretty cool
she had about 400 hp and i had no prob letting the wife drive it
cause i just set it for 2000 rpm that way i still had rubber when she got home

Crazy_Eye
12-18-2006, 07:25 PM