PDA

View Full Version : 440 issues

cruizin'
11-13-2006, 01:20 PM
Hey Guys, I'm kinda new to MOPAR land. I picked up a 79 powerwagon to haul a camper to the oil patch for me. I gots problems. It has a propane system on it, that's coming off, but with gas it's gutless. The trucks got a 440 in it and should smoke the tires off, right? Ive got probs climbing hills, even getting up to highway speeds. And it's burning way to much fuel. Carb issue?

Any ideas guys, Thanks for any help.

Kevin

tenpack
11-13-2006, 01:31 PM
mhmm, does it bog down? Whats been done to it? When was the last tune up done?DId you adjust the timing now thats its on gas and not propane?

cruizin'
11-13-2006, 03:47 PM
Thanks Ten pack, I'll give it a try.

sparky
11-13-2006, 03:55 PM
off the subject ........what work u do in the oil patch??????????????

and yes u have to retime the truck after coming off of pane otherwise no power.............[cheers]

cruizin'
11-13-2006, 03:58 PM
gonna be a rig pig ( floor hand on a drill rig). Just gearing up to go and make some loot before X mas. Tired of the rain man. I'll take snow and cold over 6 months of rain LOL!!

coreyg8
11-13-2006, 06:36 PM
where abouts you headed up there??

cruizin'
11-13-2006, 10:05 PM
I'm not sure yet where I'm being sent to. I'm waiting on stand by for the call go.
But I'm scrambling to get this camper plan running smooth.
You guys work in the patch too?

FU Toolbag
11-14-2006, 01:06 AM
Has the motoer been set up for propane? I mean properly built for propane? If so, it will run like crap on regular pump gas. If the distributor has been recurved, you might have to put it back to stock. If it's had the compression pumped, and cam exc. done, just put it back on propane, or else you're lookin at premium only. Basicly, find out who put it together, and hope it's not an awsome engine.

cruizin'
11-14-2006, 08:53 AM