PDA

View Full Version : vortec problems/........

drew
10-28-2006, 12:37 PM
im gona freak on my truck..

it think my fuel injector is toast. every now and then ill go to give'er in my truck and ill have NO power. it feels so gutless its unreal. and then when it wants to work fuck it goes. im fairly new to this type of engine and not too sure what it could be.

does anyone know what could be wrong or have any ideas?
i was told maybe....rust in gas tank?
.....fuel injector?
.....fuel pump/filter (although i changed the filter)
......somesort of engine sensor or something.

if i can pick up a 4.3L TBI i would so swap that in my truck and get rid of this vortec. its nothing but problems

Always broke
10-28-2006, 12:41 PM
it's not a big deal check your cap & rotor they are probably screwed and the reason is it's probably your coil not operating properly happened to me on mine change the coil and you wont burn out more caps & rotors[cheers]

lizard
10-28-2006, 09:51 PM
could be your fuel pump packin it in .......

ottoman
10-28-2006, 11:27 PM
check the filter on the fuel pickup in the tank. they are only 10 to 12 bucks but you have to drop the tank

Troy
10-28-2006, 11:33 PM
it's not a big deal check your cap & rotor they are probably screwed and the reason is it's probably your coil not operating properly happened to me on mine change the coil and you wont burn out more caps & rotors[cheers]

i think on a newer model (92 chev tahoe) they have all electronic ignition with coil packs and all that sensor/computer electronic mess of wire garbage...it would be an easy fix if it had a rotor[f]

Growly Gorilla
10-29-2006, 07:57 AM
He said fuel injector so I'm assuming it's a TBI motor,so it'll have a distributor.

The 4.3's had a habit of fouling up the cap and rotor. Pull the cap and rotor off and have a look at them,also look at the base of the dist. (the part the cap screws to) inside there are vent holes,check to see if there are screens in them,if there are pull them out.