PDA

View Full Version : th 400 question


MR.MIKE
09-05-2006, 10:05 PM
hey dose anyone know if a 90 chevy 3/4 2wd will except a th 400 with no problems

thanks[cheers]

Nutbar
09-05-2006, 10:15 PM
Chev did use (I beleive they called it) the turbo 375 in 1990 which was esentially a turbo 400 with a lockup converter and the same spline output shaft as the turbo 350. So a turbo 400 should fit. The computer should not have a problem with the retro fit (I have done a few of fuely chev engines with non computer tranny swaps and have had no difficulties). Only things you should run into would be drive shaft length and slip yoke (turbo 400s can have slip in or bolt on yokes and the slip in is larger than standard turbo 350 size) and trany mount/crossmember.

MR.MIKE
09-05-2006, 10:40 PM
thats for all your help

MR.MIKE
09-06-2006, 09:24 PM
one more question

will a torque converter off a 4speed automatic work on a th 400?

Nutbar
09-06-2006, 09:29 PM
I am not sure if the spline sizes are the same or not but I would not want to use the 4spd one any ways because the 4spd one will be a lock up converter so it will have more weight to it and more shit inside to break.

ottoman
09-06-2006, 09:32 PM
doesn't work

MR.MIKE
09-06-2006, 09:38 PM
shit... thanks for helping me