View Full Version : torqueconverter fluid

Punk in Drublic
08-09-2006, 01:26 PM
i looked through my haynes manual and couldnt find nothing. how much fluid am i supposed to put in. i gotta get my motor in today my buddy needs my hoist tonight for his toy.

Punk in Drublic
08-09-2006, 01:28 PM
oh ya its a C6[stoned]

08-09-2006, 01:42 PM
uhh fill it up as much as you can

Punk in Drublic
08-09-2006, 01:46 PM
ah i finded it on the net. says 4-5 quarts [1b] thats way more than i thought. I need my ui cheque so bad.

08-09-2006, 03:03 PM
The Haynes manual should give you a total tranny capacity,I think it maybe closer to 15 quarts total. The best idea is to fill the converter on the bench then install onto tranny making sure it engages properly then spin the converter around a few time to make sure.Try not to damage the front seal on the tranny housing. Since you are in the tranny it might be an good idea to change the filter and pan gasket for few dollars more.After the tranny is installed go thru all the gears R ,N, D,2,1 and check fluid often.

In The Zone
08-09-2006, 03:48 PM
[stupid] yup what he said..... do the filter u might want to do your rear main as well while it is all apart if you havent already,,,,,,,

Punk in Drublic
08-09-2006, 10:46 PM
Yep did the rear main, already got the filter n gasket, motor in now, and got my buddies toy motor out today, was quite productive day.[cheers]


heads n intake will be done when ei cheque arrives.

08-10-2006, 10:12 AM
yup it looks like a ford lol

08-10-2006, 10:52 AM
mine took like 10 liters and another four in the tranny:)

08-10-2006, 10:54 AM
14 TO 16 with trany included i think

it takes a while for the fluid to get all indife the converter. gona take alot thats forshure....

good luck