PDA

View Full Version : 89 XJ tranny problem

Buck Master
04-25-2006, 09:13 PM
Just got my 89 XJ with auto going after it sat for about 6 months. Everything works fine but it won't shift gears automatically. Put it in drive and drive along but it stays in low gear.

I just changed the steering column in it. Is there something electrical that I did worng? It was fine when I parked it. Its a 4.0L if that matters.

kootenaycat
04-25-2006, 10:59 PM
They are electrically shifted, TCM is behind pass kick panel I believe. Check ALL your fuses with a test light. A buddies XJ was shifting to 2 automatically, even when in manual 1, turned out fuse supplying power to the TCM was burnt. Was a yellow wire at the TCM connector. Hope that helps ya!

Moondog
04-25-2006, 11:00 PM
Im no expert but I would have thought that if you left it sat for 6 months that maybe the tranny fluid might be no good? Might have setelled and become to thick (viscousity) for the tranny. Flush it out and change the fluid and see if it makes a difference. I would not thought that changing the steering colum would have anything to do with the tranny.

Nutbar
04-26-2006, 01:49 AM
The XJs use an electonic tranny the main things that go wrong with them are the fuse for the TCM as stated by Kootenyacat, but the TCM is mounted on the back of the lower dash facia on the passenger side, the throttle position sensor (it is the one on the throttle body but on the auto XJs there is 2 sensors in 1 housing, 1 for the tranny and 1 for the fuel inj) and the speed sensor

pumpkin
04-26-2006, 07:42 AM
They also have selenoids in the trans to control psi and shifting. I had one that wouldn't shift, and it was the preasure regulator selenoid in the trans.

Buck Master
04-26-2006, 08:13 AM
Thanks. I'll start checking. I did have the TCM unplugged to remove the lower dash facia so maybe someting went hay wire. Checked tranny fluid and its good plus the thing drives nice in reverse and first gear. No slippage.

Buck Master