PDA

View Full Version : 5 litre- 5.8 litre


shockless
02-18-2006, 02:19 PM
which stuff is interchangable from the two engines, efi,...heads, headers, intake anything?

sparky
02-18-2006, 07:55 PM
what yr mtr and i told u need to get a chevy buddy [36]

shockless
02-18-2006, 08:04 PM
not gonna happen man haha chevs blooow

shockless
02-18-2006, 08:05 PM
oh the motor is 79, but im putting new efi stuff on

sparky
02-18-2006, 08:06 PM
not gonna happen man haha chevs blooow


chevys blow u away man all day long.............[36]

sparky
02-18-2006, 08:09 PM
yeh and i thought u where playing with efi>>>>>>>>u will need to change the complete intake and i will check on the heads for u >>>>>>>>>>FF..haha

shockless
02-18-2006, 08:12 PM
allright thanks bro, find out about propane for me too haha

sparky
02-18-2006, 08:14 PM
what yr ur truck
and do u have the dist box for the propane???

shockless
02-18-2006, 08:21 PM
ill jsut talk to you on msn about it allright james

shockless
02-21-2006, 10:19 PM
anyone else?

nykoma
02-21-2006, 10:27 PM
yah drop kick the intake then maybe be the heads too then go from there
might have to change the brackets for the alt and other stuff

just get a big pail of money and throw it at the rig all the problems will go away [15] [15] [15] [15]

Broncoo
02-26-2006, 03:07 PM
isn't the 79' 351 a "M' block? if so no major components will interchange

the 302 shares many parts with the 351 "W" block the heads are the same cept they use larger bolts on the 351

all engine access will interchange

intake will not fit, the 351 is wider

manifolds/headers will interchange

pretty much everything else is different

shockless
02-26-2006, 03:12 PM
its a windsor broncoo, i can put the 5l mustang harness on to get mass air right?

Always broke
02-26-2006, 04:25 PM
All your efi stuff will attach to the existing heads it's chevy's that don't work proper.. you just have to change around a few brackets as long as it's not an M[36]

Taxidermy
02-26-2006, 04:58 PM
[36] [36] [36] :D

Squishy
02-26-2006, 08:46 PM
the 5.0 mustang(89+) mass air will work on a 351(with all the appropriate sensors ofcourse) the 351 intake is different, and the deck height is different, which is why the intakes will not interchange.

shockless
02-26-2006, 09:21 PM
i found an awesome intake i want haha, allright thanks guys, anything else?

Squishy
02-26-2006, 09:43 PM
what kind of intake?

shockless
02-26-2006, 10:40 PM
http://www.bbkperformance.com/_img/inside/manifold.jpg

can you say[g][g][g] oh god... so nice

hornythrony
03-05-2006, 04:57 PM
http://www.bbkperformance.com/_img/inside/manifold.jpg

can you say[g][g][g] oh god... so nice


yeah i was looking at that intake too till i saw the price tag at my cost [j] $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

shockless
03-05-2006, 05:04 PM
soooo nice :(

Squishy
03-05-2006, 05:23 PM
holley is better, ive herd shitty reviews about that one

sj-x 500
03-05-2006, 06:13 PM
many people take a 302 block and put 351 heads with an aftermarket cam, and for around 900 bucks in parts you can have a 300 hp 302.

Broncoo
03-05-2006, 08:27 PM
the 351 deck height is taller and the block is wider, the intake from a 5.0L will not fit but yes the wiring harness for the 5.0-5.8 they are the same

shockless
03-05-2006, 08:58 PM
allright thankls guys

ghetto
03-24-2006, 03:40 PM
fordi6.............i have some 351 w stuff, if your looking for anything email me
sj-x.............i have a 70s 302 complete and most of a 351 could you explain in detail what is needed for my 302 to put out 330hp

yogurt16@lycos.com

thanks

sj-x 500
03-24-2006, 04:18 PM
kit made by speed pro. costs around 700-1000 bucks. consists of a new cam and gaskets and bearings.

Squishy
03-24-2006, 05:28 PM
sorry man but i cant see 330hp with stock heads, even the D8OE heads(biggest STOCK valves for a sbf other than clevelands), id think you would be better with a set of ported e7te heads and bigger valves, but its more $$$ to get them in, and even hogged to the max, nomatter what cam, i cant see 330hp. but if you can provide more info and back it up(not trying to flame or anything, just dont want people to get there hopes up that it would be that easy)

shockless
03-24-2006, 07:23 PM
what all would i have to change from my 4.9 wiring, to put the 5.0 mustang wiring in?

sj-x 500
03-24-2006, 09:46 PM
my bro inlaw has a printout of parts needed and dyno graphs from speedpro. i don't have the info here, he is in edmonton till end of april. i will post up scanned copies once he's here.

gordwould
03-25-2006, 03:19 PM
i wish i kept the blue prints and parts list i had when i was building my motor a while back still but i dont so ill try and track down a number for you from the guy who built the first 351w that was in my car and was dyno at 565 horse before i bought it and the motor i started with was a 69 351w and factory hp was 325 and around 4500 later it was 450 hp

greenpiece
04-05-2006, 07:31 PM
the whole efi system from a 5.0 will work on a 351w, with the exception of the lower part of the intake manifold. you need that part from a351w. the top part of a 5.0 intake will bolt right on it. the 351w has a longer stroke than the 302 and will make a whole lot more torque. (horsepower sells engines, and torque wins races!) to quote the late Smokey Yunick.

shockless
04-05-2006, 07:56 PM
gordwould that would be awesome bro, pm me or add me on msn mx_racer69@hotmail.com. and thanks greenpiece

mudking101
04-05-2006, 11:18 PM
good shit.