PDA

View Full Version : i keep braking..


Bigsexy
02-17-2006, 04:18 PM
y do i keep braking motor mounts..?
i have a 96150 witha Inline 6. this is the 3rd time ive had to fix em within 8months.. and i do put brand new ones on...
any ideas?[cheers]

89Ford
02-17-2006, 05:10 PM
hmmmm, stop buying shit ones.....is the engine stock, any performance done, although it would take alot of damm power to brake that many

caveman
02-17-2006, 05:16 PM
chain it down!

Bigsexy
02-17-2006, 05:25 PM
ahh yes, forgot about chains.. i will be doing that..
and i dont buy shitty ones.. i got em from lordco.. well they might be shitty i jsut askd for some Motor mounts .. haha [cheers]
chain N ductape my best friends..

nykoma
02-17-2006, 05:58 PM
get it look at by someone else.. maybe your missing something that you cant see[cheers]

Crazy_Eye
02-17-2006, 06:55 PM
its that massive straight six torque man, no gettin around in[49]

Bigsexy
02-17-2006, 06:56 PM
oh no.. its the motor mounts..im thinkin cause the I6 is sucha torquey motor.. i just really need to stop holding my foot down in 4L... trucks motor is no good for boggin but thats all i do.. time to look into a 460

shockless
02-17-2006, 07:37 PM
yah amn im thinking you jumped it to many times like just punching it can make it flex weird if say iones loose and it breaks another

Dieseljeep
02-18-2006, 04:29 AM
Is the motor sitting square to them are is it slightly angled causing a high sheer point ? Worth taking as few measurements.I had the same problem with and old 300 I6.

F150HULK
02-18-2006, 07:04 AM
Break mine all the time too and its a 302 same year. [27]

jeepingpw
02-18-2006, 08:07 AM
I had the same problem with my '69 F250 that I had put a '88, 300 - 5 speed into. Turned out to be the trans mount had enough play to let the trans twist & the engine torque would break the motor mount.

The trans mount kinda looked like 2 u-shaped pieces with rubber between (hard to explain) I took a new poly trans mount from a old style Ford (square block) & adapted it to fit, no more problems.

hornythrony
02-18-2006, 11:45 AM
I had the same problem with my '69 F250 that I had put a '88, 300 - 5 speed into. Turned out to be the trans mount had enough play to let the trans twist & the engine torque would break the motor mount.

The trans mount kinda looked like 2 u-shaped pieces with rubber between (hard to explain) I took a new poly trans mount from a old style Ford (square block) & adapted it to fit, no more problems.

yeah agree will him cuz the motor shouldnt flex enough to break it unless something else is worn out and you need to relize how big and heavy your foot is[f] [15]

shockless
02-18-2006, 11:47 AM
thats what i meant haha

Sonofx51
02-19-2006, 12:44 PM
ya i think i have that same problem.. i got 1990 with a 300 in it.. and i think my tranny mount is shot, it make a nice bang when i shift