PDA

View Full Version : dodge trans issues...


ROBO
01-16-2006, 09:02 PM
well might as well start atopic on the trans relatedstuff ..any problums hints tricks... specalty products..heres a good place too post it. since i work in the industry i can answer questions and post up updates and other info if needed.

epic3
01-16-2006, 10:06 PM
Hey Rob is the wrench that is needed to adjust the bands on older 727's like mine available anywhere. I don't need now but in the future would come in handy

ROBO
01-16-2006, 10:53 PM
if you meen the stud with the squar head... just a 3/8 open end wrench with a 3/4 for the nut is all thats needed ... just tighten the band down till snug then back off 1 1/2 turns.

epic3
01-17-2006, 09:24 AM
Got it the service manual specifies a special wrench that has a pre set torque so you turn it till it breaks over center

Always broke
01-17-2006, 09:43 AM
Is that lucas for the trans stuff any good ?[cheers]

ROBO
01-17-2006, 11:45 AM
not realy used the lucas additives in the trans but all there other products work great , here at our shop we only use lube gaurd red and black ... but mostly too address certain shift quality problums. as a prevenative mesure, shur.. it helps keep the valves free and the oil viscosity in spec for a longer time. but if your trans is dying well it wont be a merical cure ...its still going too die.

MudRam
01-17-2006, 09:37 PM
do you need to remove the valve body to adjust the reverse band???

ROBO
01-18-2006, 08:59 PM
no just the pan... andchange the filter while your there... i like too tighten then up so theres about 1/16 too 1/8 " movment .

ottoman
01-19-2006, 01:01 AM
hey robo ; do you feel like Dr. ruth yet lmao

epic3
01-19-2006, 03:05 AM
Is that lucas for the trans stuff any good ?[cheers]
I've used it it helped for bout three days

MudSlut
01-19-2006, 03:09 PM
Hey Rob what did you ever do about the t-case in the RC , 241?

ROBO
01-19-2006, 07:48 PM
i turfed the old full time 203 andpicked up a208 with everything..shafts and skidplate newxmember...hey im goingtoo look at aold 77 power wagon on sat or sun might pick it up for parts.. probly a 203 in itor205.. still need a tcase?

HEAVY METAL
01-19-2006, 07:52 PM
i like the lucas stuff all of it... from octane boost to motor oil additive..

MudSlut
01-19-2006, 08:51 PM
Yeah dude if she has the 205 let me know what ya want for it, I would gladly take it off yer hands.:D Nice going on the 208!

ROBO
01-19-2006, 09:13 PM
dude if its got a 205.. its yours ..for a fun ride in the big blue wonderof yours!!

MudRam
01-19-2006, 10:22 PM
Yeah dude if she has the 205 let me know what ya want for it, I would gladly take it off yer hands.:D Nice going on the 208!

And if ROBO dosn't get it for you i might be able to help u out, but im in Kelowna

MudSlut
01-19-2006, 11:11 PM
Kelowna is ok for me, got friends there. Either or but a 205 is a must for this year. Thanks

MudSlut
01-19-2006, 11:13 PM
dude if its got a 205.. its yours ..for a fun ride in the big blue wonderof yours!!
LOL, you got it man. Just gotta get a trailer and and go pick it up. Sittin at the inlaws in Kamloops.:)

Always broke
01-20-2006, 10:21 AM
Hope it's got a 205 they usually are a full time 203 ( wich i hated) even if you put in the milemarker part time kit the only nice thing about it was when i had it they couldn't do a driving test at air care only an idle test so the big block i had in it would pass air care [cheers]

J20
01-20-2006, 11:47 AM
K ROBO heres one for ya i wheel a 82 jeep j20 http://raskal.ufies.org/gallery/sunrisejan06/res_2104104916

with a dodge 727 and a np208 i wanna run the 203 205 doubler what excatly do i need to make this work? ball park how much do you think it will cost.

Thanks Brian.................and yes i know this is a dodge section and its a heep but its a dodge trans ok?

ROBO
01-21-2006, 08:48 AM
i realy havent built a doubler ...yet... theres a guy in surry ..lance i think that has i have his web some were goes buy the name of canadaarc.... hes built one up a year a go i think he was into it for around 1200 or so, just rember not only the adaptor stuff you need but all your shafts need too fit and linkages and xmembers.

ROBO
01-21-2006, 08:52 AM
found it just look through i think hes still got pics of it there
http://www3.telus.net/frogpond/77ramcharger/

J20
01-21-2006, 10:12 AM
thanks for the info dude!!

longhorn
01-28-2006, 04:53 PM
I just bought a 96 4x4 Sport.
It has no reverse.
Its automatic.
Will a auto tranny out of a older (1986) Dodge 4x4 work?
Both trucks have 318's

ROBO
01-28-2006, 05:17 PM
possible... but you havew too id them both correctly... if ones electronic and the otheres not then they wont work.
usely if theres no reverse... and has all the other gears,.. fliuds good in color and not too burnt... then it colud be a seal on the reverse servo or broken servo cup...maybe band but thats a rareity .do some more looking and tell me wat you find.

longhorn
01-28-2006, 05:46 PM
Thaks for the starting out info.
Ill be back no doubt 20 times before I get reverse happening.....................

epic3
02-06-2006, 10:50 PM
Why does my reverse suck in my scout auto 727?

epic3
02-06-2006, 10:50 PM
Oh everything else is good

ROBO
02-07-2006, 06:36 AM
epic... try adjusting the reverse /low band ... if that doesnt help then it could be the reverse servo seal is hardend., and needs changing.adjustment for the band is ... tighten it down all the way till snud then back it off 1 1/2 turns then check the free play .. it should just move out a bit when you pull on it.

epic3
02-07-2006, 11:59 AM
I'll try that thanks I've heard before that the reverse servo piston is prone to craking in these is that a possible problem and when i install that shift kit would then be a good time to fix that

MudRam
02-07-2006, 11:22 PM
i would..... i put in a high performance billet racing piston in mine, it was only $45 and havn't had a problem since

epic3
02-08-2006, 12:40 AM
$45 for just the piston if so I should tell you bout my truck. It's crappy and I'm Cheap real Cheap notice the capital C. Capital C Cheap lol.
But you are saying that they do break and this is a good fix if so I will look into it it's just $45 less beer for me

epic3
03-02-2006, 03:39 AM
Hey Rob if I do the shift kit does it come with the new piston seal or piston

ROBO
03-02-2006, 07:30 PM
no , you have too get them sepertly, i can get them through my shop tho at a good price...

epic3
03-02-2006, 07:33 PM
cool I'll let ya know when I'm ready do you still need some help with your truck?

gordwould
04-19-2006, 12:13 AM
its a dodge[f] of course he need's help there phil just pokin fun at you robo lets get the wireing fixed and have you changed that starter yet oh i almost forgot give me a call after your off work [cheers] bro

epic3
04-19-2006, 01:24 PM
I ain't drivin no Dodge just got a Dodge tranny in my truck

In The Zone
04-19-2006, 09:03 PM
hmmmmm transmissions

i have the R470w in my 97
now it is time for a service again as it has sat for 18 months while i did the sas
i have changed the fluid drained the torque converter and installed a good size cooler

1-2 is sluggish a little
there was TSB on this claiming the oem accumulators wore due to side load

i want to change the 1-2 accumulator piston as well as the 2-3 accumulator piston
the 1-2 Accumulator piston is the new updated version (rubber molded) and not the aluminum one.

1-2 accumulator part number F7AZ-7F251-AA
2-3 accumulator part number F7AZ-7H292-AA
can u recommend a shift kit ?
i heard the baumann one was good

also a deal on the accumulator 's ?

thanks for your expertise[cheers]

In The Zone
04-27-2006, 12:53 PM
and done




shifts like wicked now 2-3 rubber with out dropping my homemade driveshaft...

ROBO
04-28-2006, 06:43 AM
awsome zone... sounds like you went the right rout.

Toy_Runner
05-08-2006, 09:54 PM
hey robo, just bought a 85 ramcharger, auto 360 (i think) and the guy says it wont go into reverse, think it was cluch packs?? what do you think??

slutrammer
08-04-2006, 05:29 PM
just bought a 85 ramcharger 318 auto. drove it no problems, parked it. 3 days later try to drive it and no foward or reverse gears doesn't move at all. tranny fluid is very burnt. is the tranny toast? or is there some way of fixin it?

thanks

ROBO
08-18-2006, 06:28 AM
sorry dude sounds like the trans is done.. time for a rebuild.but check for major leaks anyways .. if it did move and now it wont colud be real low in the level remember always check them in neutral!!

g-rod
03-06-2007, 08:17 PM
i got a 2001 dodge 1500 with a 360, and at lower speeds, adn lower rpm, giving gas slowly, it like i dont know hwo to explain it, revs up and down, or the tranny like slips and grabs, its a really really weird feeling, that doesnt feel good at all....

Cookie
03-06-2007, 08:45 PM
hmmm sounds like a typical piece o crap dodge auto tranny to me

Jeremy
04-08-2008, 09:40 PM
I hear your looking for a ranger winshield I got one for ya if u still need it

whazhappenin69
04-08-2008, 10:46 PM
May as well throw my question in.

Bought a 92 Dakota 4x4 5.2 magnum A500 trans. Goes into every gear perfect when cold and shifts excellent but only works for a couple minutes then starts to make a sort of growling sound and then nothing. fluid is up, not burnt. When checking the fluid in neutral when the trany is working and cold it sits on the full line, as soon as it quits the fluid level sits above full running in any gear or turned off. I am thinking the pump is probably toast, is there anything else I should check?
I also want to install a stage 2 shift kit when the pan is off, and an external cooler as I plan to tow a small trailer occasionally.
Any other weak points to check while its apart?
I don't know the previous history on it other than the oil being changed 5,000k ago.

Mike

ROBO
04-09-2008, 06:43 AM
yup still need the glass.. thx, and mike.. ya sounds like a pump ishue .. or maybe a cracked piston.. defintly internal tho. ya big cooler and a kit would doo good if your towing with it.

LLOYDSTER
04-10-2008, 04:18 AM
i have a 98 5.9 cummins. i know this tranny is a sloshbox so i changed my fluid and filter but it still shifts long? almost like a torque conv. prob. any suggestions? how do you know when it is starting to go. and what is involved when it does? not sure how these trans. work. someone told me its all fluids. is there more tweeking one could do when the pan is off? minor adjustments? what does a torque conv. upgade involve?

Chody
04-16-2008, 09:44 PM
robo, got a 86 ramcharger 360 auto 4x4, makes sick sound when going into revers, works great after but initial into revers sounds fked, kinda like ka-klunk-klunk then good, any idears?

spit.fire.
04-16-2008, 10:16 PM
hey, i know its a chevy question but what the hell, figured it coulndt hurt to ask, the tranny i put in my truck, t400, every now and then, (totally randomly) it delays going into reverse, supposably it has been doing it for the past 4 years and never got any worse or better, is this fixable?

ROBO
04-19-2008, 07:25 AM
t400 revers delay .. could be in the valve body or a week servo seal...chody sounds like the chain in the 208 is streched .. but ya havent come too see me about your yoke!!

Chody
04-19-2008, 09:29 AM
sorry man, bought one off of 37inchdakota, that 208 has given me nuthin but probs, how bad is the chain being stretched? it would make sense if that was the prob

ROBO
04-19-2008, 10:34 PM
they do stretch and skip tooths .. sometimes its the forks too wereing out.. and the tend too wipe out the front torenting bearing

Kinslayer
04-22-2008, 02:19 PM
Long time listener, first time caller, Robo. I have a 1997 peugeot cabriolet with a 3 speed automatic transmission. Sometimes it will shift into reverse but other times it only shifts into second gear. When I apply the velocitator the car moves forward like it's lagging back really hard, like it's stuck in second gear. I've checked the fluid and replaced the tranny seven times.. Can you give me the diagnostic codes for shift controller? Is there a way to reprogram it to shift properly?





























































































[wako]

ROBO
04-26-2008, 07:55 AM
well the best way too reprograme them things is too bounce them off a few telefone poles.. then try too hit the fraser and full throttle.. and if you make it too the other side... its done!! no more trans ishues....haha... but if ya want drop buy my work and ill throw the modis on it and see wat it says.. as fr flashin the controller that a dealer thing ..for now..

bc baja
04-26-2008, 09:15 PM
that's some funny shit right there [15] [15] [15] I think you have to use the vag on that one robo

punkrocker
05-09-2008, 09:23 AM
good thread man, lots of info
on to the question, i have an nv4500 trans and was wondering what t-cases will swap right in, it has an np241c right now and its almost done so im just wondering what my options are thanx

Dodge_Only_Guy
05-10-2008, 12:39 PM
i am pulling my motor out of my truck to put a biger one in, the only thing is i cant fins some of the trans bolts. its a slant 6 and i dont know what type of trans it is yet. i have found one bolt on the passenger side at the bottom and 2 above the starter. i am told there are 2 or 3 more bolts that i just cant find. the year is 85

ShuswapRedneck
07-09-2008, 09:18 PM
I got a 94 Dakota with the 318, auto, problem is, besides shifting constantly between gears (think i need a shift kit or something to hold gears longer if there is such a beast), when it's in reverse, it hops/bounces a lot, especially while backing up hills, or with a trailer. What gives?