PDA

View Full Version : XJ cooling system question


FokkerDude
08-17-2005, 07:59 PM
I just wanted to clarify when the XJ stopped using a closed system as I've been reading conflicting posts on other sites. Was it 1991 or 1992 that they stopped using a closed system?

_________________________

No Wife, No Kids, No Problems.

Taz Jeep
08-17-2005, 08:05 PM
I'm pretty sure it was '91 [8D]






http://members.shaw.ca/tcbulmer/smilies/canadaflag%20smiley.gif

FokkerDude
08-17-2005, 08:49 PM
That's what I wanted to hear. But my '92 still runs really hot, espcially when going up a certain mountain road in Olympic National Park, that gains a whole lot of elevation in 9 miles. (the water pump blew on the way up, but that's another story) Is there a better aftermarket rad that is a direct swap for the XJ?

_________________________

No Wife, No Kids, No Problems.

Taz Jeep
08-18-2005, 08:01 AM
Has your rad got a radiator cap, that's the system you want, the older system has got an expansion bottle on the fire wall.If you've got the older system then convert to the newer. You can get a three core aftermarket rad, that would really help, have you got an electric fan? I put a bypass switch in mine so I can keep it turned on all the time if I want to :D






http://members.shaw.ca/tcbulmer/smilies/canadaflag%20smiley.gif

FokkerDude
08-18-2005, 10:27 AM
The rad in mine has a cap and what appears to be an overflow bottle on the passenger side inner fender. A 3-core rad will be in the works for sure. As for the electric fan, I like the idea but I really hate dicking with electrical stuff. Is it a hard mod to do? You know a good site with a good step by step list of how do do it?

_________________________

No Wife, No Kids, No Problems.

Taz Jeep
08-18-2005, 01:04 PM
Go to Gary's in Maple Ridge, you should be able to pick up a
factory electric fan for about $50,( offer cash ) it only needs 2 bolts to hold in place, then just work it off a switch with an inline fuse, shoudn't take no more than 20 minutes to do the job.






http://members.shaw.ca/tcbulmer/smilies/canadaflag%20smiley.gif

FokkerDude
08-18-2005, 03:48 PM
Sounds like a plan of attack. If I'm not at the beach tomorrow, I'll be visiting Gary's. Thanks Taz.[cheers]

_________________________

No Wife, No Kids, No Problems.

Rebulon Refurbulater
08-21-2005, 05:58 AM
Should have a relay too or you will probably eat switches.....unless they are rated at about 20 amps for the start current....good luck[32]

91 F-350 Long box,standard cab,dual tanks,1200 lb up front,8000 lb out back,hi-steer,5:13's detroit in back,lockright in front.42"irocks on 16" steelies....work in progress!
Wheelin',Workin',........oh yeah....Sex!

FokkerDude
08-21-2005, 08:33 AM
Good point. Relaying is a must. I don't know a heck of a lot about electrical stuff, but I do know the virtues on using relays. [cheers]

_________________________

No Wife, No Kids, No Problems.