PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Problem Of Some Sort, TPS Voltage


Squishy
06-20-2005, 07:19 PM
well, i thought my throttle positioning sensor was my problem, so i purchased a brand new one.

what was happening, was the tps was showing 4.79 volts.
95 5.0l mustang EFI
i tested all 3 wires
grey wire 4.79ish volts
grey/white wire 4.79 volts also
brown wire 5 volts.

what could the problem be? i replaced the sensor and ive still got the same readings. i can not think of anything else that could be the problem. if someone else could make a suggestion, that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Kris

__________________________
1984 Bronco II, 302, NP435,NP208 Doubler, NP205,5.13 Dana 44/8.8 Fullwidth, Detroit, Coil Front, 36" Militarys, Rock Sliders, Warn 8274

8274, Its Like Ducttape, Never Leave Home Without It!

Got MonoFoam?

godzuka
06-20-2005, 09:14 PM
i think you may have the signal wire shorted to the 5 volt referance or the computer may be back feeding power.

definition of "making love": something bitches do while you are fucking the ass off them.

Squishy
06-20-2005, 09:28 PM
so basically i have to trace my wires back, or the computer is fubar'd?

__________________________
1984 Bronco II, 302, NP435,NP208 Doubler, NP205,5.13 Dana 44/8.8 Fullwidth, Detroit, Coil Front, 36" Militarys, Rock Sliders, Warn 8274

8274, Its Like Ducttape, Never Leave Home Without It!

Got MonoFoam?

Squishy
06-21-2005, 01:46 PM
well its not a short, would the computer be back feeding power with the tps sensor unhooked?

__________________________
1984 Bronco II, 302, NP435,NP208 Doubler, NP205,5.13 Dana 44/8.8 Fullwidth, Detroit, Coil Front, 36" Militarys, Rock Sliders, Warn 8274

8274, Its Like Ducttape, Never Leave Home Without It!

Got MonoFoam?

In The Zone
06-22-2005, 03:30 AM
one of your values should change in voltage while stroking the tps through its range = thus simulating throttle movment to the computer ?

i beleive u got a short.

now to find it ...

good luck




HMMMMMMM
ITS a FORD

Squishy
06-22-2005, 10:42 AM
FOUND THE PROBLEM!!!!!

it is a bad ground to the TPS sensor, i grounded the ground wire coming off the sensor, and checked tps voltage and it was at 1 volt!

now time to trace the wire and find where its broken

__________________________
1984 Bronco II, 302, NP435,NP208 Doubler, NP205,5.13 Dana 44/8.8 Fullwidth, Detroit, Coil Front, 36" Militarys, Rock Sliders, Warn 8274

8274, Its Like Ducttape, Never Leave Home Without It!

Got MonoFoam?

Squishy
06-22-2005, 11:30 AM
WOW, thats all i can say, damn, i thought it was fast before, now its like HOLY FAWK IM GONNA DIE!!![M]





I LOVE IT[36] i must have bought the motor with the wire being fucked up because it has never revved, or been as fast as it is now, its retarded[redneck]


I wonder if ill ever stop smiling?

__________________________
1984 Bronco II, 302, NP435,NP208 Doubler, NP205,5.13 Dana 44/8.8 Fullwidth, Detroit, Coil Front, 36" Militarys, Rock Sliders, Warn 8274

8274, Its Like Ducttape, Never Leave Home Without It!

Got MonoFoam?

In The Zone
06-22-2005, 04:08 PM
Good job might be easier to just run a new one through the loom

HMMMMMMM
ITS a FORD