PDA

View Full Version : info needed - eBrake cables for Caddy calipers

m j
05-14-2005, 06:28 AM
converting the 14ff to discs.
I have zero experience with the ebrake cable.
I am learning from online sources that I will need to begin actually using the ebrake to keep these calipers in adjustment, that sucks.

who has a link to ebrake cable supplier? share please.

I had dodge d70 under my truck and the cables were modified to run with the dodge stuff.
from the ebrake pedal the lines run down the outside of the DS framerail to a balance bar type homebrew cable hookup.
so ideally I need cables or cable extension that will allow the caddy ends to come up to the DS framerail.
the stock Fleetwood that I got the calipers from runs in that direction but they will not come close to making it to the frame.

you used to be able to get this type stuff made up locally at AutoMarine Electric but NAPA bought them out.

I won't be offended if this gets kicked to the Newb section.
of course I searched but came up dry.

thanks

*caliper part number is fenco slc178 but you will have to get junkyard cores to get the ebrake parts, had to add some tech*

pumpkin
05-14-2005, 06:50 AM
I would think the best way would be to modify the cables tat are stock for the truck.

lizard
05-14-2005, 07:27 AM
yah u could probley could get the pieces to join them from a cable place or maybe even Princess auto

m j
05-16-2005, 05:38 PM
thanks guys
I will post up what I end up with
anyone fall into a solution let me know please
Lordco sells Absco stainless brake cables but has no literature or even a catalogue ??

STranger
05-17-2005, 04:06 AM
lordco also has universal cable kits where you put the ends on and cut to length.i'm not really impressed with the quality,but it could be a solution.

i dont need people to get me,i just need people to get out of my way

if you put 20 grand into a 30 grand buildup,you dont have a $20,000 rig-you're just $10,000 short of having anything.

wade and cleatus