PDA

View Full Version : shackle angle

m j
02-24-2004, 06:11 PM
I finally addressed my front spring shackle angle
the difference in ride quality is really amazing for such a simple mod
I have ugly superlift 10" springs
I have been running these springs since 1992
a few years ago I added teflon slipper pads to them in an effort to reduce the jarring ride
after moving the shackle they actually feel like springs
the shackle angle as delivered is pretty much exactly the opposite of correct
I had added 5" centre to centre shackles but just this weekend moved the shackle mount forward
I used the existing forward upper bolt hole and redrilled the other 3 and the big window
this resulted in the springs laying on the frame
so Monday I called Haney Iron to have them make me some new shackles from 2" flatbar, 9 1/2" long, 1/4" thick, with 15/32" hole drilled 7" on centre
looks like a ton of clearance now

I will try and get some pics up soon
I do have an image of another truck with similar mods or can link to 3 threads on other boards
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=224938
http://coloradok5.com/forums/showflat.php/Cat/0/Number/997346/page/2/view/collapsed/sb/5/o/all/fpart/1
http://coloradok5.com/forums/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=996236&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=all&vc=1

anyone have similar ideas or results to share? questions? comments?

dentedup
02-25-2004, 06:32 AM
quote:Originally posted by m j

anyone have similar ideas or results to share? questions? comments?