PDA

View Full Version : Something I noticed

KBB
09-03-2003, 03:11 PM
So there I was reading my magazine the other day and I noticed something that was just wrong.I noticed some cyclinders in the back of one of the buggies.Take a look, in the mag. (4wheel and offroad)
They are green. Anyway, They havn't really responded back yet. Just a thank you email.
I have enclosed a email I sent to them.

I noticed on page 112 of the Septemer 2003 issue that there is a picture of a 95 YJ with two bottles of R-22 (Monochlorodifluoromethane) refrigerant in the back of the rig. I am an HVAC mechanic and recognize the light green cylinder and the shipping box in the back with the cooler.

First of all, I hope the motorist isn't using this to inflate his tires. Of course I can't imagine any other reason someone would carry two cylinders of the stuff on a run except for that use. When released into the atmosphere this refrigerant damages our ozone layer, which as we all know is a serious environmental concern affecting us all. Secondly, R-22 is a tightly controlled substance, and it is illegal to use it in this manner both in the US and in Canada.

As 4-Wheel & Off-Road is a reputable magazine that promotes responsible four wheeling I am sure you want to point out to your readers that using a refrigerant in this manner is not acceptable.

Jeff -------
Kelowna
British Columbia

http://www.funinbc.com/forum/uploaded/killerbugsbunny/200371305027_the%20finger.jpg Carnage 4x4

crazy j
09-03-2003, 03:55 PM
dont have the mag - but could he be using them to store compressed air or co2?

tell your mom, i said thanks!

lizard
09-03-2003, 04:07 PM
I think the same applys to the containers...right killer?

KBB
09-03-2003, 04:23 PM
No! They have one-way check valves and can't be refilled - even if you could they wouldn't store that much air - only about 2 gals...

http://www.funinbc.com/forum/uploaded/killerbugsbunny/200371305027_the%20finger.jpg Carnage 4x4

KBB
11-10-2003, 03:19 PM