PDA

View Full Version : Hey guys.. I need like.. financial help

85_GMC_4x4
11-07-2002, 05:26 AM
No I don't mean I need money.. tho more is always nice.

I'm hoping to buy a house in the next year or two and have been saving money for a down payment. My X girlfriend who is taking accounting at OUC says that the federal gvmt has some sort of deal going on that basically states:
"A first time home buyer can take up to $2x,000 out of RRSP's to use towards a down payment without incuring tax penalties. The money taken out of RRSP's must be put back in within 15years or the tax penalties will kick in".

Does anyone know anything about this? Seem like a good route to go?

85 GMC 3/4T 4x4
7" BDS suspension lift
35" Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Tires
Dual fuel propane/gas
Locked rear axle
Smiley face painted on diff cover

OFF CAMBER

imported_n/a
11-07-2002, 11:33 AM
I used the scheme last year. And I'm an accountant. Whaddya wanna know about it?

From memory so don't take this to the bank.

Basically, if you have money in your rrsp (and it has to have been in ther for 91 days or more), you withdraw the money without having to include it as income in the current year. You must buy a house with it and there are time restrictions between when you take it out and have bought the house. The first year, you don't have to pay anything back. Then each following year you must pay 1/15th back to your RRSP. If you don't pay it back, you will need to report income of the 1/15th in that year and pay tax on it.

As well, it was $20,000 per homeowner so my wife and I both being on title, we could use $40K (if we had it). I used the minimum I could to get into the house and would "suggest" you leave as much of your RRSP alone as possible.

Now, in the past year, I figure my house has gone from the $150K I paid to maybe $180 (including many improvements that cut into fishing time). No way did my mutuals come close to that gain in the last 18 months.