PDA

View Full Version : Square hole cutting ????


Tunabomber
10-09-2012, 11:10 AM
Square hole cutting ?

i want to cut a square hole in a sheet of stainless steel 16 guage i think and it needs to look nice
the hole needs to be 2x3 ''

any ideas on how

right now my only idea is to drill out the 4 corners and the center and then just file/cut and sand

anyone have a better solution ?

doing a recessed led display in my yj dash

Punk in Drublic
10-09-2012, 11:13 AM
drill the corners and use a cut off wheel. i have some tha tfit a die grinder will work good. got tons lemme know if ya want some.

procircuit
10-09-2012, 11:36 AM
really..?

dirka dave
10-09-2012, 11:37 AM
Disco disco.

J20
10-09-2012, 12:30 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjckF0-VeGI&feature=related

Tinker Belle
10-09-2012, 01:14 PM
lol Tuna want me to do that for you [f]

Trailjunkie
10-09-2012, 01:42 PM
first you need a round peg then.....

no seriously angle grinder and a zit cut blade and be careful power tools are dangerous . lol

skyjacker
10-09-2012, 01:46 PM
Jig saw ? Air sheer ? :dontknow:

Tunabomber
10-09-2012, 02:33 PM
Jig saw lol see thats why i ask


How did i not think of that ..dammit


Thanks man

Tunabomber
10-09-2012, 02:34 PM
lol Tuna want me to do that for you [f]








Ouch !!! That stings a little

Tunabomber
10-09-2012, 02:39 PM
Im getting carried away

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/93C47EE1-0FB0-4F32-8611-25C77B299F66-4606-00000410013F6741.jpg

Moondog
10-09-2012, 03:13 PM
Dirka has a plasma cutter speak nicely to him [cheers]

Tunabomber
10-09-2012, 05:17 PM
Dirka has a plasma cutter speak nicely to him [cheers]


not worth it lol

4skin
10-09-2012, 05:39 PM
Good luck cutting stainless with a jigsaw

barracuda
10-09-2012, 05:41 PM
plasma will do it as will a zip disc and a steady hand . a disc on a die grinder would be a good option also

longhorn
10-09-2012, 07:03 PM
Get a square hole blade for your drill from Napa they are cheap.

youngun
10-09-2012, 07:06 PM
cnc plasma table :D

78bronco
10-09-2012, 09:25 PM
plasma cutter zip disk or drill a bunch of holes along the scribed lines then use a hammer and chiesel ....

Or bring me some beer and meet me at my place in van and i will plasma it out for you as long as you have the lines all figured out

dirka dave
10-10-2012, 05:58 AM
This is funny.......

Are you done yet ?

Tunabomber
10-10-2012, 09:09 AM
hell ya im done....jig saw didnt work stainless to strong for finishing type cut

ended up going old skool

drill bits and hand file and a argry mother in law for making file squeeks at 1 am :D

epic3
10-11-2012, 03:30 PM
are you joking?! Thats how kids do it. you work for a tool supplier do you not.....or were you in the dog house lol

Djsaggs
10-12-2012, 02:25 PM
would like to see finished product

Tunabomber
10-12-2012, 03:10 PM
i have a full time job and 2 kids

heres where im at

lol



http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/93C47EE1-0FB0-4F32-8611-25C77B299F66-4606-00000410013F6741.jpg

Tunabomber
10-12-2012, 03:10 PM
will finish this weekend

Punk in Drublic
10-12-2012, 03:16 PM
so so far you took out a few screws and your deck? careful now, dont want to strain something...


(says the guy too lazy to bleed my brakes lol)

4skin
10-12-2012, 06:16 PM
so so far you took out a few screws and your deck? careful now, dont want to strain something...


(says the guy too lazy to bleed my brakes lol)

Hey it's keeping you from driving it drunk ass

Punk in Drublic
10-12-2012, 06:53 PM
Hey it's keeping you from driving it drunk ass

actually provincial law is keeping me from driving it
go fuck yourself

Tunabomber
10-12-2012, 07:30 PM
Tryn to clean up all the birds nest . Amazed at all the live wires i have found,.

Moved switches up to cluster

Moved system volt meter to cluster

Broke alarm led and aperently u cant just replace with a standard led so i put in a scanner but didnt like the bling so i recesed it and dulled it a bit

Installed accesory master on center console

Installed fused power block and ground block under dash

Eliminated 5 wires at the battery

Painted dash panels


Now i just need to put it all back together lol
http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/3CCF48BA-E69C-4F38-AF97-4785FA8A6450-2147-000002B4E06A1828.jpg

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/0C8860E9-53D2-419C-9A46-1F84B6F690BD-2147-000002B4D23303A3.jpg

epic3
10-12-2012, 07:34 PM
Ohhh shiney

dirka dave
10-13-2012, 11:12 AM
Is is painted gold ??

Dirka Allah !!

Maybe add some purple pinstripe. :dontknow:

:D

4skin
10-13-2012, 11:44 AM
[f] [f] The end switch is crooked

dirka dave
10-13-2012, 01:15 PM
[f] [f] The end switch is crooked

Its the tuna shackle curse !!!

Tunabomber
10-15-2012, 06:27 PM
and done......for the most part anyway and real nice to have a upgrade only cost me 20 bucks for once lol


putting it all back togeather took a whole day cuz of the rats nest under me dash go fuck yourself




turned out ok





real nice having switches front and center but going to replace them with something less blingy

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/CB5A280E-AFA7-433D-A8CF-438AB88355C2-1045-00000098ECEC8254.jpg



love the master switch ... real easy to kill all the lights for oncoming traffic



http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/E4065426-5EF0-4F5D-949F-73BA95286C9A-1045-00000098D465AB18.jpg



next little minor proj is to yank the glove box grab handle cubby hole and cut the back 1/3 out so i can put the cb in as a flush mount ...then finish in black

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/AA438203-A257-4629-820F-D651E71E21D5-1045-00000098C73E5CE6.jpg

chevy69chevelle
10-15-2012, 07:41 PM
Why can't you use a regular led? I have replaced alarm led's with standard ones before...

Tunabomber
10-15-2012, 07:53 PM
Why can't you use a regular led? I have replaced alarm led's with standard ones before...



the type my alarm requires is 3 volt and most are 12v

now that the scanner is behind the metal i like it

chevy69chevelle
10-15-2012, 08:56 PM
the type my alarm requires is 3 volt and most are 12v

now that the scanner is behind the metal i like it
ya it does look good!

p.s. most led's take ~3v. when used in a 12v application, you need to wire in a resistor to reduces the voltage. most automotive led's have resisters built in.

jnyblazer
11-04-2012, 02:33 AM
:dontknow: and done......for the most part anyway and real nice to have a upgrade only cost me 20 bucks for once lol


putting it all back togeather took a whole day cuz of the rats nest under me dash go fuck yourself




turned out ok





real nice having switches front and center but going to replace them with something less blingy


so is the 12.2 your alcohol blood count?:dontknow:
http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/CB5A280E-AFA7-433D-A8CF-438AB88355C2-1045-00000098ECEC8254.jpg



love the master switch ... real easy to kill all the lights for oncoming traffic



http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/E4065426-5EF0-4F5D-949F-73BA95286C9A-1045-00000098D465AB18.jpg



next little minor proj is to yank the glove box grab handle cubby hole and cut the back 1/3 out so i can put the cb in as a flush mount ...then finish in black

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t83/mrtuna/AA438203-A257-4629-820F-D651E71E21D5-1045-00000098C73E5CE6.jpg

Tunabomber
11-05-2012, 01:30 PM
Seperated all accesorys ie amps winch lights and so on

The digi meter is for that