PDA

View Full Version : bronco 2, 1984, 2.8l.. high? oil pressure..


bcbronco2
05-07-2012, 09:12 PM
Just started getting higher-than-i'm-used-to oil pressure readings from my factory gauge. Everything's running fine, but "by the gauge" my engine should probably be spewing oil from every orifice, I think.
Anyhow, just wondering what could be the culprit? Checked the oil and it's still good.
What a turn-around from my last BII... Oil pressure TANKS but still good on the level...
Also, is this a particularly dangerous reading? I had read on another thread that the factory oil gauge (at least on the 2.9) is pretty much there for looks, and I know the "red line" on the gauge is at the low end...
Other than that, no issues to report other than a minor exhaust leak pre-cat :dontknow:

dbuker
05-07-2012, 09:22 PM
I have a 2.9 in mine, my oil gauge is all outa wack.

bcbronco2
05-07-2012, 09:28 PM
Yeah... Except that up until the other day, mine was reading "fine", AKA between O and R of N O R M...

85chevy
05-07-2012, 09:33 PM
Only way to check is to put a mechanical gauge into a main gallery port to verify the actual pressure.

bcbronco2
05-07-2012, 09:45 PM
Hmm. Any chance anybody 'round here can help me with that tomorrow afternoon?
Hopefully it's not something that's going to turn into massive amounts of troubleshooting/diagnostic....

4skin
05-08-2012, 12:20 AM
go to princess auto buy a cheep oil press gauge remove oil press sender
install gage get a mecanical one if you can mout it in cab
fire truck up now you have a gage that works done
it could be the sender wireing to sender
gage cluster etc
yes the stock gages are more for looks but better than idiot lights

bcbronco2
05-08-2012, 12:29 PM
Alright, thanks. I'll try that and let you know. A little worried cause I've got a 800+km round trip coming up in 2 weeks and I'd hate for this to become an issue on the Coke.:confused0006:

Asshat
05-08-2012, 07:14 PM
ya do yourself a favour go mechanical for the oil water and battery i did it in mine and it was the best thig i ever did for the truck much more reliable

m j
05-13-2012, 02:56 PM
ford doesnt usually give you a real oil pressure guage
usually they have a sender that sends a 'good' signal for anything over 7psi

bcbronco2
06-13-2012, 01:27 AM
so... never got to installing the oil pressure gauge, but the problem kinda sorted itself out anyway. hasn't happened since the day after i bought the gauge. go figure, eh...

Troy
06-24-2012, 03:59 AM
dont even worry about it. run that motor till it dies, it may take awhile they are pretty tough

FU Toolbag
06-24-2012, 09:03 AM
If you can't kill one of those your just not trying.