PDA

View Full Version : Any have a Sleeve socket I can borrow


Honky
08-30-2011, 03:30 PM
Just about to install my ball joints and it looks like I need this to install the new sleeve nut

http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/OBJECTS/33300/33253.JPG


This is a Sleeve Socket number C-4169

It's to get this out

http://i993.photobucket.com/albums/af58/Funinbc_honky/55599634.jpg

England
08-30-2011, 03:40 PM
like you have balls....oh those kind .....hahahahahahahah....i made a funny

harvester_sorrow
08-30-2011, 10:29 PM
Make your own with a grinder and old socket? :dontknow:

regulate34
08-30-2011, 11:12 PM
looks like a samller d44 hub socket.
a drift and a hammer wont work?

dirka dave
08-31-2011, 05:16 AM
Soak the crap out of it with penetrating fluid then tap it with a drift and hammer.

Can you not rent one.......?

Maybe just buy one for next time...[f]

pumpkin
08-31-2011, 06:25 AM
I have one of those,,,,,,,,,,,snapp on too.

Cheese eyes
08-31-2011, 08:17 AM
yup i got one too .....don't event think i've used it yet [15]

Happypants
08-31-2011, 08:26 AM
I've used a hammer and punch before, but ya soak it in penetrating lube first
Lordco sells the proper tool for getting that out,

Honky
08-31-2011, 08:56 AM
yeah maybe I'll just go buy one. it says to torque it down to 50 lbs

So far the damage is New Rotor, brakes, upper and lower ball joint and I need a new spindle.

m j
08-31-2011, 10:02 AM
I also have an unused snapon one. under $30 iirc

Honky
08-31-2011, 10:37 AM
so all you guys do is just "tap" it out and in?

dirka dave
08-31-2011, 10:40 AM
Tap as in spin it out with a drift.

m j
08-31-2011, 05:33 PM
not sure how they would preload it with a hammer and drift
if you arent going to set it right then just leave it alone

85chevy
09-01-2011, 08:35 PM
Pretty sure I have one but I think its still at my dad's and sure he has one to.... lol

4skin
09-01-2011, 09:25 PM
what front end is it kev ive got a dana 44 ford 1/2 ton spindle

Honky
09-07-2011, 09:24 AM
Ok here is the odd part...I was able to just tap it out...in fact it came out a little too easy.

When I put the new one in I could hand wind it all the way out the bottom :dontknow:

This is the first time I've changed a ball joint with this sleeve nut. Can this be an issue or can I just simply wind it in to the correct height for the ball joint nut to tighten

just asking cause I read that it needs to be torqued to 50 lbs

Chopstick
09-07-2011, 03:05 PM
torqued at 50lb when the ball joint is in there otherwise it'll just thread through without any problems