PDA

View Full Version : HO into bronco


Punk in Drublic
04-08-2011, 07:26 PM
anyone swapped a poostanger HO into a bronco or truck. motors hooped, this will prolly be her last weekend. heard the swap is easy as long as ya got all the cpu n shit from the stang. wondering how it will work with the e40d. and if anyones wired it before, cuz im horrible at wiring.

4skin
04-08-2011, 10:58 PM
just swap the upper intake and your sensors over much easier than changing all the puter and wireing

Squishy
04-09-2011, 12:03 PM
ive swapped a 5.0 into a bronco 2, and now my buggy.

i went with the mustang mass air/harness and ecu from 95 the first time in the b2, it worked, but it never ran like itshould, dontget me wrong it was great but it had a bit ofa stumble or something that i could not figure out.

this round i went with all 89-93 sensors and intake and computer, and a http://rjminjectiontech.com/ wiring harness. this harness was worth its weight in gold if you want a simple plug in, and go system, at half the price of the painless wiring harnesses(you also have to buy 2 harnesses for the painless, it does not come as one kit, kinda "painintheass". it came assembled(painless you have to solder and cut to length and everything) all i did was wrap it with the supplied material, and plug in.

is the bronco carbas of now and do you plan to keep it that way? if so just take the 5.0l poostang motor and pull the intake as mentioned and just replace the longblock with your worn out one

Squishy
04-09-2011, 12:07 PM
oh and i had a carbed 5.0l out of a mustang in a 1990 f150 i had, i miss that truck, smoked a 5.0l thunderbird in my truck on 35's. my opinion is they are a great motor for that truck, lots of torque, reliable and easy to work on. and i have one in the car in the shop too

if your bronco is efi, you will have to look into what you need to do with the wiring if you decide to keep the stock wiring harness also, the HO motor has a different firing order than the non ho,

Punk in Drublic
04-09-2011, 12:10 PM
just swap the upper intake and your sensors over much easier than changing all the puter and wireing

this would work. except i spun a bearing lastnight.

epic3
04-09-2011, 12:16 PM
Do'nt the mustang motor and truck motor have a different firing order?

Punk in Drublic
04-09-2011, 12:42 PM
yes they do. gotta swap cpu and all that. i got it all outa the poostang. but i am so not good at wiring, i may just get the motor in there and send it to a shop to be finished proper.

m j
04-09-2011, 02:25 PM
didnt trucks use batch fire injection
the firing order is pretty easy to change

4skin
04-09-2011, 04:32 PM
i did a efi into a 50 ho no problem

patford
04-09-2011, 05:13 PM
Hey you have a rear sump pan for 302 want to sell after your swap?

T 'n' A Barbie
04-09-2011, 05:21 PM
Every time I leave him alone with a vehicle...it dies. I think the car gods are trying to tell us something !! LMAO

mini
04-10-2011, 12:10 AM
fi you wanna do it i can do it in chilliwack for cheaper tahn any shop

Punk in Drublic
04-10-2011, 06:34 PM
fi you wanna do it i can do it in chilliwack for cheaper tahn any shop


we will be in talks than sir! ill try sober up and call ya tomora, start to figure somethin out.

Punk in Drublic
04-12-2011, 03:13 PM
fuck, motor i bought wasnt as complete as my freind said. needs computer, harness, and feul rails. not a big deal.

Punk in Drublic
04-12-2011, 05:06 PM
so i need a computer out an 88-93 with any of these numbers 1988-93 Mustang mass air: A9L / A3M / A3M1 / S0Z / D3D1 / A9S / 8LD / A9P / C3W / C3W1 / A9M / A9T / 8LF / 8LG.

also was thinkin im gonna use the truck intake, but the wiring harness from RJM says to have the intake on the passenger side. well see when it gets goin, ill have em both.

epic3
04-15-2011, 02:32 PM
fuck, motor i bought wasnt as complete as my freind said. needs computer, harness, and feul rails. not a big deal.

You can use all of that from your old motor and just rearrange the injector order to match the new motors firing order

Punk in Drublic
04-15-2011, 05:46 PM
I know you can do it that way, but i thought the computers are programmed different, i was thinkin id get more power using the ho computer from the 80-93. i found it all anyway,