PDA

View Full Version : and 6 hours later...

fullsizebronco
03-13-2011, 09:32 PM
i have a whole new respect for mechanics!!! 6 hours no air tools and i only got to here...:mad: the drivers head is unbolted and almost out but the exhaust manifold is sticking on something and i was tired and sore so needed a few beer so i called it a day ill probably borrow a motor hoist so i dont have to fight with it later ... needless to say i really hope it is a blown head gasket .. i also snapped 4 studs 2 in the exhaust manifold and the 2 that are holding the exhaust tube to the upper intake go fuck yourself..what a piss off...

i kept all my push rods and head bolts in order does anybody know if these headbolts are reusable?

from what i see it has hydraulic lifters? does anyone know the torque specs for when i put it back together? for A:head studs B:lifters?

appreciate any help guys its my first time i have done this on a v8

http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w193/fullsizebronco/IMG00526.jpghttp://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w193/fullsizebronco/IMG00527.jpg

Troy
03-13-2011, 11:39 PM
that all sounds like standard procedure. it would have been easier to take the front clip off and put the front diff on the ground.

as far as the headbolts... they say to not reuse them but if the engine is stock or close to stock and doesnt have anything special done to it, i would just re use all that shit. i have before and havent had problems

4skin
03-14-2011, 12:20 AM
not sure but alot of newer fords use torq to yeald head bolts
newer as in 80s up
your parts guy will be able to tell you going by casting no
on block and heads
what made you think head gaskets are gone
did you do a compresion test?
was it smoking?white
your exaust manifolds have the air pump tubes its been a while but i think they might be whats hanging the head up
needed a rest after that boat anker of a intake heavy bitch lol

dirka dave
03-14-2011, 10:37 AM