PDA

View Full Version : carb tunning and timing

ktowner351
01-11-2011, 03:24 PM
hey i got a 460 that was running, its got a 750cfm 4160 holley carb. im not sure if the timing was right on before i had to tare my carb apart and now im trying to slap it all back together. its getting the odd back fire through the top but it idals okay.. i drove it down the road and its deff running rich and only seem to backfire up the top when i step on it... is there a way to find where the timing is sposto sit (it hasent been out so its at tdc and is in the right gear set..) i donno how to tell if its the carb that needs ajusting or the timing...:dontknow:

Hyenuf
01-11-2011, 05:25 PM
I'm a mechanic and this post confuses me.

Dirka.. Perhaps you can translate this post into english and we may be able to assist this poor person.

ktowner351
01-11-2011, 06:41 PM
i dont even know if the timing changes when the carb is out... when i have the light on and im watching the mark it moves as the idel increases.... so i geuss get it to barley idel and then do the timing? and then tune the carb..

ktowner351
01-11-2011, 06:55 PM
so i did some more tinkering, marked where my timing was then shifted it but its ideling a little high, and the the idel screw is all the way out.. the choke is off, and ive checked for vacumme leaks... it doesnt seem to be back firing now though... i tried to turn the mixture screws all the way in and nothing... i have the vacume gauge on it and i ajusted them till i got the highest vacume, so they are a half turn out..

ktowner351
01-11-2011, 07:50 PM
oh and i dont think its a vacume leak cause its holding at 17".. and one of the original problems was the spark plugs looked like cake...

4skin
01-12-2011, 02:22 AM
as the rpm increases the mechanical advance increases timeing
you need to disconect vacume advance and plug hose to set timing
the poping could be caused by a lean condition does the acelerator pump work?

Punk in Drublic
01-12-2011, 07:28 AM