PDA

View Full Version : Starting issues

PrimeT
07-06-2010, 11:21 PM
Well I replaced my started about 3 weeks ago and it was going good for another week after that but after about a week I had/have to pump the gas or it will just turn over until I do. Any ideas why that is? Another small problem possibly related or not I think that it is running rich because my tailpipe is black. Any help would be awesome. Oh its a 93 YJ, unfortunately with the 4cyl...

dh_4_ever
07-06-2010, 11:51 PM
see if there is any codes, thats the first thing to check... its most likely a sensor sending a bad single to your ecu

PrimeT
07-07-2010, 12:50 AM
Hmmm well might I add that I am a full time student working out of my dad's garage, so I don't really have any way to test the ecu. So is there a way around using a computer to diagnose the problem like removing O2 sensor and seeing if something happens? I don't think thats a good idea but you get the thought process about alternatives I hope.

'Balmer
07-07-2010, 01:31 AM
Here ya go man. You don't need any special tools or anything...

http://www.jeephorizons.com/tech/yj_codes.html

Check your damn codes then post up the results...

;) :D [36]

PrimeT
07-07-2010, 11:22 AM
Ah I see thanks for the help both of you! Life savers I tell ya. I owe you two a beer when I see ya next.

dh_4_ever
07-07-2010, 05:08 PM
if you remove the o2 while running it will fry it, ask Heep, he keeps doing it :D lol

also, budget and midas both do free code scans(up to 95-96 you got the chrysler onboard OBD, later needs a scan tool) , its what I do when the check engine light goes on my moms 98,

PrimeT
07-07-2010, 11:42 PM