PDA

View Full Version : Welding Helmet ?

UU
10-31-2009, 11:10 PM
I'm in the market for a new welding helmet.

What do you have ?

What do you like ?

Where's a good place for one ?

Arnee
10-31-2009, 11:50 PM
i've got the PA auto darkening plain one. works well when i use it and can't beat the return policy

D-Ass
11-01-2009, 02:24 AM
I use a 4 x5 non flip gold lens I also use a 2 x 4 flip front gold lens both are regular cheep helmits that I have been using for the last 5 years on a full time daily basis ( I have bean using the gold lenses ever since i started welding and would sugest to any one try them out you can see full color unlike the green lenses

the auto helmits are fine but you don't have to spend a whack of money, the p.a. ones work well for small shop use and for the price you really can't go wrong just don't through it around and it will treat you well

then their are the more expancive helmits like the miller or lincon with all the fancy shit all over them but if you are a real welder you would know that a welding helmit gets fucked up really quick and the money that you paid for some flames is just not worth the price (sorry I have no time for a helmit that caust 400 bux and dose the same job as one that is 60)

just my 4 c

jonny6door
11-01-2009, 10:23 AM
ive been welding for 5 years and have used almost everything, and the princess auto ones are the best bang for the buck for sure. ive used the same auto darkening princess auto one now for a year and a half and never had a problem with it. and it was 39.99 on sale. ive got one at the shop and one at home. if you want a cool looking one check out www.hoodlum-welding.com/hoods.htm (http://www.hoodlum-welding.com/hoods.htm) i used to have the "burning skull" one. definately got lots of comments on it.
________
Alaska Medical Marijuana Dispensary (http://alaska.dispensaries.org/)

T.O.
11-01-2009, 10:26 AM
I've got the P/A one even though I don't know how to weld.