PDA

View Full Version : My '87 Cherokee needs a little help.

thatshott101
10-27-2009, 07:05 PM
Hey,

So I'm having a few issues with my 2.5L Cherokee. It starts fine, idles pretty good, but as soon as I go to accelerate I get a hesitation, a sputter, and I'm forced to push the pedal down to keep it going. If I'm going up a hill, and I stop, it will die unless I keep my foot on the gas.

The other day I was pulling it in to my garage, and my driveway happens to be sloped, so to keep it from dying I had to push the gas pedal down. When i got out of the jeep I went to look at the back end of it and I saw that black carbon had puked out the back of the exhaust and on to my driveway. Not good..

Here is a list of things I've replaced so far...
- Spark plugs, wires, cap, rotor
- Oil and filter
- I had to put a Cat on it to pass air care, so it's new

So basically I need an idea of what to look at next. This has been an on going problem for about 3 weeks now, and I'm new to Jeeps. So please, someone, point me in the right direction!

TIA

-Chris (not kris)

poostang
10-27-2009, 07:19 PM
sounds like its running to rich ..............replace fuel filter ............pull pump out make sure hoses are tight on the pump...............check pressure at fuel rail...........check injectors...............

Happypants
10-27-2009, 07:32 PM
fuel filter, when my jeep did that it was the fuel filter, when my sisters did that, it was the fuel filter,

Chopstick
10-27-2009, 09:08 PM
sounds like its running to rich ..............replace fuel filter ............pull pump out make sure hoses are tight on the pump...............check pressure at fuel rail...........check injectors...............

[iagree]

poostang
10-27-2009, 11:02 PM
[iagree]

oh ya fyi pump is easy to pull out should be on side of tank metal oring holds it in

Chopstick
10-28-2009, 02:18 AM