PDA

View Full Version : Bronco fuel issue


hrd4mud
08-11-2009, 06:15 PM
Bought up a pair of Broncos last night, an 82 with a 351, auto, and an 87 with a 302 and a manual tranny.

The 87 the owner said it was running fine then one day it wasnt getting fuel, he checked it out and it wasnt getting power to the pump. Im guessing the relay or something to get it home was just gonna run a wire strait from battery to a toggle switch then to the pump. Will that hurt the pump? Anyone else had this issue?

Drove the 82 home, but have to wait for 2 hands to get the 87 home.

Reeseman
08-11-2009, 06:26 PM
if you are going to do that I would run it off a relay It should be fine. Did you check the fuses?

hrd4mud
08-11-2009, 06:44 PM
I havnt done anything yet, that was my second thought right after the emerg kill swtch thing but he said he checked that so i assumed he woulda checked the fuses before buying another one? I only have one hand for another week, so it will wait till then.

I got both of em for less then the one thats running is worth, so im not to worried, i just like manual trannies better.

Its about an hours drive away so I wanna make sure i have a few quick things it could be before heading up to it. And a last case jumper wire.

hodge
08-11-2009, 06:45 PM
check the inertia switch

hodge
08-11-2009, 06:46 PM
http://z.about.com/d/autorepair/1/0/W/5/42240502.gif

hrd4mud
08-11-2009, 06:51 PM
Thanks for the diagram, old owner said he tested it and there was no power at the inertia switch, sorry couldnt remember its name im a dodge boy just playing with these fords

Reeseman
08-11-2009, 07:23 PM
I have a bronco and love it I am looking for spaire parts though

Happypants
08-11-2009, 08:53 PM
I have a bronco and hate it I am looking for jeep cherokee though


fixed it for ya big guy:D

thrillbilly
08-11-2009, 10:51 PM
is the 87 silver with a dent in the roof, from mission near stave?

hrd4mud
08-11-2009, 11:38 PM
Sparwood, way over on the other end of bc, the forgotten beautiful part [36]

radman
08-12-2009, 11:51 AM
what pump are you going to run a wire to, the in tank or the frame mounted one??
i would start by checking the wires and relay behind the air box, seen lots of corroded wires in other trucks. turn the key on with a good batt. and wiggle stuff around. good luck.

thrillbilly
08-12-2009, 11:59 PM
oh ok cause theres an 87 5speed bronco for sale out here too, just wonderin :p

regulate34
08-13-2009, 08:04 AM
i know that some f-150 usta use a fucked system
not sure if the broncos had it too

they used a small pusher pump in the tanks puting out about 1 psi
to the mail pump on the frame rails

wish you were closer i love eletrical

Bronco Boy
08-16-2009, 09:55 AM
There are up to 4 fusible links in the wiring harness by the starter solenoid; one is for the EEC relay which controls the fuel pump relay. Check to see if it is burnt.

hrd4mud
08-16-2009, 10:32 PM
Thanks guys, was hoping for one common thing so i didnt have to take a bunch of stuff I didnt need, but I see theres a bunch of common issues. Guess Ill take a full toolbox with me.

Got lookin under the 82 with the 351, looks like the bad ujoint was actually the diff, has a ton of play and was bone dry, topped it up ill see if it is completely gone or just going. I think its got 4.10 in it.

Reeseman
08-17-2009, 07:20 PM
fixed it for ya big guy:D
nick you are an ass.[drunk]

Asshat
08-17-2009, 08:31 PM
rule out the inertia switch by bypassing it and the power to the pumps comes straight from the inertia so if the from pump has power the rear should too.
ive got a copy of the wiring diagram from mitchell so if need the colors or locations shoot me a message

BajaDale
08-17-2009, 11:01 PM
Same thing happened to my 89 Bronco chased the problem all day. Turned out it was the plug for the relay! It was fucked. It was running fine one day then wouldn't start the next morning, so a similar kinda story. If I wiggled the wires around on the plug it would work for a minute or two. Cut a plug out of another harness soldered it in and it's been good ever since[36]

hrd4mud
08-18-2009, 07:14 AM
Thanks, from what ive found thats more common than anything else when it has this problem. Hopefully that gets it going.