PDA

View Full Version : tj clutch


Trailjunkie
07-26-2009, 10:24 PM
my buddies girlfreind's tj wont shift into gear except when the transfer case is in netral. fluid's up, worked sweet yesterday. hhmmmm
i know nothing about hydrolic clutches.:confused0006:

anyone

OnTheEdge
07-27-2009, 01:28 AM
sounds like its not disengaging i'd say shite pilot bearing or you used a fenco clutch wich are absolute shite use a lucas or centerforce, talk to B at jeep thrills he'll hook ya up

Chopstick
07-27-2009, 04:05 AM
hey man, thats what my DD was doing.. shift great the day before then nothing the day after or even within 20 minutes of driving. thought is was my clutch slave failing or even the master clutch slave. well you saw the pics, turned out to be the clutch plate

check to see if theres fluid in the master clutch slave, check to see if the slave is leaking (might be able to see break fluid coming out of the trany) or just try to bleed it (its just like brakes)

Renegord
07-27-2009, 03:45 PM
Could be a broken spring on your clutch disc ,it happened to me ,it breaks and then jams between your disc and your pressure plate or flywheel,either way sounds like you gotta pull the tranny out and have a look,unless their's obvious signs of fluid leakage.

TJFTW
08-21-2009, 06:33 PM
if you replace it get a LUK clutch they are the best for jeeps. cheap too.
http://www.dial-a-clutch.com/Clutch_Kit_p/14323.htm

Chopstick
08-21-2009, 10:14 PM
holy shit only $150... i payed $400 for my luk clutch

TJFTW
08-22-2009, 01:28 AM
yea man i just put one into my jeep runs good. Still need an SYE though got some driveline vibrations

ray
08-22-2009, 04:06 PM
make sure master cylinder for clutch isnt blown first!

would allow air in system and just bypass not giving any pressure to realease clutch and if thats good then pull tranny !

dh_4_ever
08-25-2009, 09:40 PM
same problem is slowly coming up with mine, but if i pump it about 6 times, then it works normal. the slave has 32,000km on it, but is the all aluminum version, so Im gona have to bet its the origional master cylinder thats causing me problems.

Trailjunkie
08-25-2009, 09:43 PM
now he filled the tranni with fluid and it works for awhile then same thing cant shove it into gear

Chopstick
08-26-2009, 02:34 AM
now he filled the tranni with fluid and it works for awhile then same thing cant shove it into gear

burn it